Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34
  1. #16
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To Paul T.
    Thanks for clearing that up. I'm also sorry that I'm on XP, but like others on fixed income....

    However, I ran MWB with it set to only enumerate "file system objects" and the count was very close to the TreeSize count of "files" at 131,701. I previously found that count to be close to the actual number of files. The count for Memory and Startup was 1,666.

    When I ran MWB to only scan the Registry, it counted 300K objects, which is what BATcher wrote.

    The point made by jwitalka about the MWB can scan inside Zip files, IF a tic is set. I did NOT find that setting.

    This still leaves quite a few objects not accounted for.

    Paul

  2. #17
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,863
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 556 Times in 504 Posts
    You will find that setting on the Settings tab > Scanner Settings > box next to Enable Scanning inside archives.

    Jerry

  3. #18
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,718
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    I'm not sorry you've got XP, I'm sorry we misled you.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #19
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    jwitalka: Maybe it's because I have MWB Pro or just the XP version, but there is not option
    on the Settings tab to scan the archives.

    TreeSize "files" counted = 130K, which matches MWB's file system objects count by +/- 2K.
    The "Search Everything" program counted 144K objects.
    Also, TreeSize GB's match the Win_Explorer exactly.
    The MWB single purpose setting to count registry objects result = 300K.
    SubTotal = 430K objects.

    MSE counts = 2.6 million. And it now takes 14 hours to run.

    Unaccounted for = 2.1 million objects. How can this be right?

    Does anyone know what I'm missing.

    Please,

    Paul

  5. #20
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,718
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Objects and files are not the same thing so you may just be chasing ghosts. If the machine shows as clean and you have enough disk space I'd let it go.

    cheers, Pal

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    PointFive (2014-02-07)

  7. #21
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,863
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 556 Times in 504 Posts
    Both the free and Pro versions of MalwareBytes have the following options on my PCs:
    MWB.JPG

    Jerry

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    PointFive (2014-02-07)

  9. #22
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To jwitalka:
    I checked again and even did a printscreen, but I dawned on me that maybe I missed an update. Yes,
    version 1.75 adds "ability to scan within archives".

    Since I purchased a "lifetime license" to MWB-PRO, I tried to find a link to do an update to the latest version, but

    I could only find a "BUY now" link.

    Does that mean that the "lifetime" was only for the V1.70 with updates only for the scan files?

    Paul

  10. #23
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To: Paul T.

    Maybe I should have titled my request for help as "It's taking 12-14 hours to run a virus scan
    of my system". That's the real problem. At first it only took MSE a couple of hours to scan the system.
    Recently, it began to take half of the night. When it was still running at 8am, I knew something was wrong. Also, it's not just MSE, it's any program that I run to do a virus check. They all run for an extensive amount of time.

    Does anyone else have this problem?

    Paul

    Paul

  11. #24
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,378
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 829 Times in 762 Posts
    Paul,

    No, it should not take that long!

    A couple of things I would check:
    • Is there anything running that may be changing files. This can cause some AV programs to restart.
    • Have you checked your disk for bad sectors? A scan taking this long could be a sign that your hard drive is beginning to fail.


    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    PointFive (2014-02-07)

  13. #25
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There is nothing else running during the scan (not even Firefox), although you are asking a good question, since System Mechanic does it's "own thing" when no one is using the PC. I guess I'll have to find a way to prevent System Mechanic from running during the scan, but still 2.6 million objects???????????????

    System Mechanic is set to check everything and it does a daily Disk Check.

    Should I be thinking about re-installing Windows to clear the clutter? Will the Langalist no-reformat reinstall shrink the Registry?

    Paul

    Paul

  14. #26
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,378
    Thanks
    207
    Thanked 829 Times in 762 Posts
    Paul,

    Try running a scan in Safe Mode. If it runs in a reasonable time in that mode you can then start hunting for what running processes are causing your problems. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  15. #27
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,863
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 556 Times in 504 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PointFive View Post
    To jwitalka:
    I checked again and even did a printscreen, but I dawned on me that maybe I missed an update. Yes,
    version 1.75 adds "ability to scan within archives".

    Since I purchased a "lifetime license" to MWB-PRO, I tried to find a link to do an update to the latest version, but

    I could only find a "BUY now" link.

    Does that mean that the "lifetime" was only for the V1.70 with updates only for the scan files?

    Paul
    You should be able to download the current version from the Malwarebytes site and re input your current valid product key if it doesn't automatically pick it up. I got my update via the normal "Check for Updates" procedure.

    Jerry

  16. #28
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,131
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 247 Times in 240 Posts
    There was a version of MWB that was not version updating properly in XP, it might have been 1.6 but not sure. The solution was to uninstall MWB completely and download and clean install the latest version.

    At any rate it's there in version 1.75 free. Also if you've scanned via process of object elimination and then it doesn't add up to the object scan number in total, there's some kind of corruption or unintended interaction or a glitch in the version updates somewhere. Once you have a clean install of the latest version you might be able to determine things a little more clearly.

  17. #29
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,848
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    I'm guessing that you are running a Full scan each time?
    Why not run a Quick scan, and reserve the Full scan to run overnight once a week or once a month?
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to BATcher For This Useful Post:

    PointFive (2014-02-08)

  19. #30
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Registry:
    I exported the registry to the Desktop and then opened it in Notebook. File size is 115 MB. Does that seem about right? The line count of the Registry file in Notebook file was ..........................1,093,182. Notebook is counting blank lines. Maybe line count does not equate to objects.

    Malwarebytes objects count of only the Registry = 300,000 objects.

    After subtracting the files counted, that leaves a couple of million objects unaccounted for.

    Would a re-load of Windows remove unnecessary Registry objects?

    Paul

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •