Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Icons, files, etc. in desktop folder do not always appear on desktop

    One of the peculiarities I've discovered on my new Windows 7 64-bit system is that sometimes I will send something to the desktop and it simply does not appear. But if I check in Windows Explorer in the desktop folder, I'll find it there. It's very annoying, since I like to use the desktop to conveniently store current items. Does anyone know about this issue and is there some way to fix it?

    Thanks,
    Ellen

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    See if the following from aa post by gc117 at Win 7 Desktop does not auto-refresh helps.

    1) back up the registry.
    2) Find HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{BDEADE7F-C265-11D0-BCED-00A0C90AB50F}\Instance
    which contains three subkeys. One of them, curiously enough, is DontRefresh and it has a value of 1 (turned ON)
    3) change the value to 0 (turned OFF) and hit F5 to refresh and save the now changed registry.

    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Refreshing the desktop doesn't seem to work. I just tried refreshing it manually, and there remain items in the folder that are not shown on the desktop.

    I can't even say if there's any pattern; it seems arbitrary. For example, when I installed a program and checked the box to add a desktop icon, it didn't appear on the desktop, but it was in the desktop folder.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    What happens if you re-boot?

    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Doesn't help. :>/

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you change the registry key?

    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    No. I can't find that key.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I saw a post where someone added that registry key and resolved the issue.

    Joe

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    OK. How do do that?

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Before that, just in case search the registry for a subkey of DontRefresh.

    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    None found.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Also saw this as a possible solution - Open Windows Explorer, go to Tools/Folder Options/ General Tab, and at the bottom, in the 'Navigation Pane', make sure 'Show all folders' and 'Automatically expand to current folder' are checked.

    Joe

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Still no luck.

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    To add the key to the registry start C:\Windows\regedit.exe with "Run as administrator".

    Navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID. Right click on CLSID and select New | Key. Name the Key {BDEADE7F-C265-11D0-BCED-00A0C90AB50F}. Press enter. Right click on the new key and select NEW | Key. Name the key Instance. Right click Instance and select NEW | DWORD (32bit) value. Name the new value DontRefresh. By default the value should be 0 (zero). Then reboot.

    Joe

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The only instance I have of CLSID is HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\removeproperties\DropTar get\CLSID.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •