Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Anyone run into computer restarting on its own after shutdown?

    Since about a week ago, my computer has been restart sometimes about two to three seconds after it has seemingly shut down (via Win 8.1 shutdown or one of Karen's Show Stopper scripts). When it happens, I hold the button in all the way for a few seconds to prevent a repeat. One possibility, I suppose, is a start switch or mechanism going bad, although in the three years with this Cooler Master case I've only recently begun to start it manually vs. powering from a console. Before I write Cooler Master about a replacement, if that's even feasible, are there any other possible explanations? Thanks,

    Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 (Rev. 1.3) UEFI BIOS (U1h)
    Intel i7-2600K, 16 GB G.Skill DDR3 2133 RAM (Ares 2x4gb, Sniper 2x4gb)
    Sapphire HD7750 Ultimate video
    Kingwin LWP-550 PSU
    Plextor MB3 Pro 128GB (system drive) + 2 other HDDs
    IBM Model M keyboard / Bornd M120 wireless mouse
    Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    etc.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I have seen this with faulty power supplies - the power supply is responsible for turning the PC on and off with the motherboard providing the signal to do so. It could also be from a "wake on" signal from a modem / network card. The other possibility is Windows / the BIOS is set to perform a cold restart rather than shutdown.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    I also with power supplies that have gone off though in each of my cases the problem progressed to a point where holding the power button in had no effect, it still started again.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks for the ideas. I woke up this morning thinking it couldn't be the switch, since it's just getting a new electrical signal from somewhere. I haven't changed BIOS settings for awhile, but will check that, and I don't have a modem/network card; this is single user off a cable modem. The power supply seems a likely candidate.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Highstream,

    Your cable modem plugs into a network card which may be integrated into your mother board but it is there. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    You're of course correct, but how could the network module be the cause? The signal to the board from the cable modem is constant. If the integrated network module is malfunctioning, wouldn't that be seen in other ways as well?

    As for the BIOS, I don't see anything there that would affect this. Same for the Win 8.1 power screen.
    Last edited by highstream; 2014-02-10 at 11:18.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    The cable modem could be sending a WOL signal. Disconnect it before shutdown to test.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Highstream,

    You need to look in the Network & Sharing Center.
    wol.JPG
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    If your feeling up to the task, strip it down to bare bones and disconnect everything. Give it a good cleaning/dusting.

    *Allow all on board and PSU capacitors to be fully discharged.
    *Examine all motherboard connections and clean if needed, this includes the system panel connectors at the motherboard end.
    *Remove the CMOS battery for a few minutes.
    *Test all RAM by booting one at a time, and then test the RAM slots too.
    *Start it up & test with the minimum amount of hardware attachments.

    Take a closer look at the start switch mechanism since that is what you suspect, often
    your gut instinct is correct.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks gang, but I didn't see this going in the right direction, so I posted over on anandtech and the solution (so far) is as follows:

    "One more thing you might try re the registry:

    Location: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

    Double Click on "PowerdownAfterShutdown"

    Then,
    Change it to "0" if it is "1" OR
    Change it to "1" if it is "0".

    And hit Enter."
    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthre...5#post36074575

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    After posting here based on four straight clean shutdowns with the value set at 1, there were two straight restarts. So I set it back to 0, had a good shutdown for the night, but this morning a restart occured. To be continued...

    Update: A google search for the registry entry finds that this was a common problem in Win 7. There's a good exchange of different causes and ways people solved it at http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...w7itprogeneral.
    Last edited by highstream; 2014-02-16 at 11:50.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Link does not work.

    Jerry

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Turned out I did find the immediate cause: Unplugging the dac's USB power cable from the add-on USB card and putting into an external four-plex, still computer powered but from one of the mobo's ports, ended the restarts. The cause could be anywhere between the dac's battery unit, the add-on card or the PSU. All three will be repaired or replaced very soon, starting with a Seasonic PSU this weekend.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •