Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    2010 macros in 2013

    Hi
    We have template documents that were first created in MSO'97, then converted to MSO'2010 but now with MSO'2013 the macros no longer what to work.
    Documents are created by picking a template from a local server and parsing information from our SQL database to bookmarks in the documents. The document is being generated, this is evidenced by a .tmp file being created but the required information is not being parsed.

    Has anyone come across this problem with MSO'2013
    cheers

    Phil Carter

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,548
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 149 Times in 142 Posts
    The problem is likely to be the connection to the database. You will need to get specific on where the problem is happening and what your failing code looks like if you need help to solve it.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Andrew Lockton For This Useful Post:

    bonriki (2014-02-12)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
    Andrew has answered your question.

    There is no general problem with using Word 2010 (or Word 97) macros in Word 2013. Some particular macros may give problems. I've heard that some that use WordBasic code (Word 95) will not work in Word 2013.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Charles Kenyon For This Useful Post:

    bonriki (2014-02-12)

  6. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both
    Seems the problem is worse than first reported in that it appears to be quite random. Some templates are fine and others just will not behave.
    Not sure where to go here as thet are all esentially the same with mostly minor differences
    cheers

    Phil Carter

  7. #5
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
    A lot of macro programming in Word 97 used WordBasic code because programmers then were used to it. Many of them were ported from earlier versions.

    Again, I do not know that this is your problem. The Microsoft site, itself seems to have nothing on problems with WordBasic in Word 2013, I just know that the particular code shown on Graham's site takes a different set of code for Word 2013 to avoid using a WordBasic command.

    You'll have to examine each template that gives you a problem. Post the code in the template here with an explanation of what it is that the code is supposed to be doing. (If it was not well-documented when written this may be impossible, I know.)
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •