Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lichfield, UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Linking a Form to a Datasheet

    I'm developing an Access application where I have a large form containing details about a Survey Request. This form, called Survey Task Sheet, contains a tab control and the tabs contain either sub-forms or images. These are all working fine. However on 1 of the tabs I want to place 2 subforms - 1 a datasheet view and below it a form view. I want the form view to display a more detailed view of the currently selected row in the datasheet. I have got this working fine when the user selects a whole row in the datasheet (ie clicks to the left of the first data column on the datasheet view) or clicks on any cell within a row on the datasheet, the form below displays all the fields from that record.

    However what I cannot get to work is if the user navigates around the datasheet using the up and down arrow keys. This does not seem to fire any events that I can use to repopulate the form view. Can anyone advise on how I capture the ID of the current row when the user navigates to it using arrow keys?

    PS I am not using Master Child relationships between the datasheet and the sub-form as it is not strictly speaking a subform of the datasheet, they are both sub-forms of the main Survey Task Sheet. I tried making the form a sub-form of the datasheet but could not get it to even display.

    Access 2010 Win7 64 bit

    Screenshot attached.

    Thanks

    rfps.jpg

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,518
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
    Sorry, it looks like your post got missed somewhere along the line, so this is a late response. I believe your issue is the use of the datasheet - and the recommendation is to use a continuous form that looks like a datasheet. With that approach you get events that you can respond to appropriately, although I don't believe you will be able to link the subform to the continuous form.
    Wendell

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to WendellB For This Useful Post:

    njl100 (2014-02-19)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lichfield, UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks WendellB,

    I'll give that a try. Not being able to link it shouldn't be a problem as I can achieve the same thing through VBA code. The trade off will be though that I will lose the filtering and sorting functionality that a Datasheet gives me. I'll put both in front of the user and see what they prefer.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,518
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
    Actually, you can still do filtering and sorting on a continuous form using the right-click menus or with icons on the ribbon, assuming you have those displayed.
    Wendell

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to WendellB For This Useful Post:

    njl100 (2014-02-20)

  7. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Lichfield, UK
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks - I'll give it a go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •