Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool Slow starting progams after booting to desktop

    On my Laptop which is fitted with a fast SSD to boot time to desktop is pretty fast but once desktop is launched the first few icons in task-bar show very fast then it stops for about 1 - 2 minutes doing nothing then suddenly the other icons show and I can start using the desktop. I think I remember that there is a setting in registry that has a delay time set but cannot remember what or where.
    Does anyone know how to reduce this delay
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,157
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Clive,

    I doubt that this is a registry setting problem. There is most likely a startup program that it hogging the CPU. Try using SysInternals Autoruns program or What's in Startup to see what is loading at Logon and most likely phoning home. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    brino (2014-02-21),curiousclive (2014-02-16)

  5. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Thanks R.G.
    I have run both auto-runs and whats in startup but can find nothing I even disabled all start ups in what in Start-up but still I get up 2 minutes wait time before can use desktop.
    I have run TDSSKiller from Kasperski plus an offline full scan with Avast and AVG and Windows Defender Offline but no issues are found.
    When wait there seems to be no activity from SSD then suddenly there is and desktop works and all other icons appear. This is why I think there is something in registry that has got altered to give a delay before completing load. My desktop also has a short delay between loading of all icons but it is only ms not minutes.

    Thanks Clive
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  6. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,825
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 248 Times in 242 Posts
    I'm not sure if rebuilding the icon cache would sort this but you could give it a try http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...e-rebuild.html

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2014-02-16)

  8. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Thanks for the suggestion Sudo15 but I tried that as one of the first attempts but it did nothing to resolve the problem.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  9. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,157
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Clive,

    This is a shot in the dark but try disconnecting your computer from the internet and see if the problem persists. It could be a problem with your Network card and/or IP stack. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2014-02-17)

  11. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,250
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 1,057 Posts
    You could see if you are able to launch task manager (taskman.exe) or Resource and Performance monitor (perfmon.exe), even from the command line, to have a loot at what is consuming cpu and / or disk during that time.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2014-02-17)

  13. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,825
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 248 Times in 242 Posts
    There is a service that can be set to Delayed which is default Auto and that is Desktop Windows Manager and is found by going Start, type services.msc then press Enter and scroll down the list to check its status which should be showing as Started and set to Automatic.

    You can change its start up type by right clicking on it then select Properties and use the dropdown to change if needed.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2014-02-17)

  15. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    What's the notebook make/model# and the brand/model# of the SSD, Clive?

  16. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    What's the notebook make/model# and the brand/model# of the SSD, Clive?
    1.Dell Inspiron N411Z. 8GB RAM
    2.Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
    3.Win 7 Home 64 bit
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2014-02-17 at 07:41.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  17. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    There is a service that can be set to Delayed which is default Auto and that is Desktop Windows Manager and is found by going Start, type services.msc then press Enter and scroll down the list to check its status which should be showing as Started and set to Automatic.

    You can change its start up type by right clicking on it then select Properties and use the drop-down to change if needed.
    Checked that and it is already set to automatic with no delay
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  18. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    You could see if you are able to launch task manager (taskman.exe) or Resource and Performance monitor (perfmon.exe), even from the command line, to have a loot at what is consuming cpu and / or disk during that time.
    Done that and there is no CPU usage during the delay and only about 50% when starting again. Also no Applications running.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  19. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Clive,

    This is a shot in the dark but try disconnecting your computer from the internet and see if the problem persists. It could be a problem with your Network card and/or IP stack. HTH
    Was one of the things I tried still had the long delay.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  20. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,825
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 248 Times in 242 Posts
    Is anything related reported in Event Viewer ?

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    curiousclive (2014-02-17)

  22. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,250
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 1,057 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    Done that and there is no CPU usage during the delay and only about 50% when starting again. Also no Applications running.
    What about disk usage?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •