Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Disk Imaging - Acronis vs EaseUS ToDo Backup?

    I have just purchased a new win8 laptop. I normally do a complete Image of the drive as soon as I have it set up with my usual software, so it is easy to get back to a "Clean state" if the drive dies, or I want to start over.
    I used Acronis True Image Home for this task before, with great success. It works like a dream, but I only have an older version that will not work on Win8.

    Looking through things, I have found EaseUS ToDo Backup which appears to do the same thing, but is free.

    Comparing the two - $29 for Acronis upgrade vs free..... which one will work better? Your experiences would help me immensely!

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Photoer, this link will help.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I use Macrium Reflect free, works great.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    We all have our preferences. I have used Acronis True Image for many years and I still use it, now version 2014, with Windows 8.1. It works as I want it, so I can vouch for it. You can always download the trial version and see how you like it.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Windows 8.1 comes with a very easy to use image maker, and it's free. Look for it in the lower left corner of your File History screen.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the tips - I will have a good look over them

    Does the File History also take you back to a "Clean install" state of Win 8.1?

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Photorer, I think it depends on when it was created. I don't have Win8.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    OK - so here's my rocky road so far....

    Started up the new laptop with Windows 8 - set up Sophos Antivirus after taking off Norton (which I hate with a passion!) and set up all the 92 +2 updates. all installed over night. THen came the set up of Office 365 which was pre-installed so not too difficult (just activated with my account). Then I had to leave it for another day to download windows 8.1 from the Windows Store....... which also installed fine! I was just about to get busy with some more items, when Samsung Update pops up telling me that the drivers need updating - so I leave it to do its thing some more for another half a day. When it finishes with those updates, the laptop needs a restart, and ...................
    it never wakes up again! It had a cursor, with the spinning circle next to it for around 3 hours. Several restarts later (hard shutdowns, and tweaks etc) and still no luck.

    Then I remembered that you can do a "refresh" of windows 8..... so I managed to get to that screen by using the Fn+F1 combination and did a refresh. I am now another 2 days down the line with updates installation and about to do the windows 8.1 setup overnight............ and I will definitely [B]not[B] be doing any of the Samsung updates!

    I have purchased the latest version of Acronis TI 2014, and will now install that and create an image that I can get back to in less than the 2 days of setups, and updates!

    Thanks for the tips....

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I also use Acronis and its totally trusted on my pc's.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I too have used Acronis for many years, but beware of Acronis 2015,... they have removed a lot of features and it now has a GUI that is infuriating everyone. It also still doesn't work with some external USB 2.0 devices for cloning unless you go through the trouble of downloading 3gigs of files to burn to DVD from Msft so that you can then make a WinPE bootable CD.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a Windows 8.1 Lenovo H350S-101132. The disk clone feature of Acronis True Image 2014 and 2015 does not work on this machine. To clone the disk, one has to do the bootable media exercise. This disk clone exercise goes from simple in previous editions of Acronis to hassle for the 2014 and 2015 editions.

    After an extensive chat with Acronis, I do not believe the simple disk clone feature of Acronis True Image 2014 and 2015 will work with Windows 8.1. The disk clone feature of Acronis requires a RESTART. The RESTART closes the app; therefore, it is the end of the disk clone exercise.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by duckwimberly View Post
    I have a Windows 8.1 Lenovo H350S-101132. The disk clone feature of Acronis True Image 2014 and 2015 does not work on this machine. To clone the disk, one has to do the bootable media exercise. This disk clone exercise goes from simple in previous editions of Acronis to hassle for the 2014 and 2015 editions.

    After an extensive chat with Acronis, I do not believe the simple disk clone feature of Acronis True Image 2014 and 2015 will work with Windows 8.1. The disk clone feature of Acronis requires a RESTART. The RESTART closes the app; therefore, it is the end of the disk clone exercise.
    I have just been through this exercise, and the only way this works is to first create the boot CD or USB stick, and boot from that to do the cloning. Also, if working on a laptop, the new drive MUST be in the laptop. You may find that using USB to clone, they aren't seen by Acronis resue media at all. In that case, you'll probably need to build a WinPE version of the rescue media boot disk, which requires a huge download from Microsoft and installing the Acronis media plugin. The WinPE version of the boot disk is what finally worked for me.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    What's with the first posts canning Acronis!? We are all for considered argument, but you need to prove your credentials before we take you seriously.

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. I paid for and use Acronis 2014.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    We all have our preferences.
    Indeed. I've been using TeraByte's imaging tools since the '90's. I began with the imaging tool built into BootIt Next Generation, then migrated to Image for Windows. There's a fully functional 30-free trial. I've tinkered with Windows severely through the years, and pooched it more times than I can remember, but as the red statement in my signature line admonishes, I've always had a drive image which I could restore.

    I've never tried any other imaging software, as I've never had a reason; my images have always worked as expected. There are other imaging tools used and recommended by others here, and my advice is to try those that are well-recommended, and select the one that fits your needs and expectations for ease-of-use and imaging/image reliability.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    I also use Acronis and its totally trusted on my pc's.
    +1
    In my experience, you gets what you pays for.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •