Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't get display up without Ctrl+Alt+Del

    when display turns off, but before computer goes to sleep, can't get display up without using ctrl-alt-delete which brings up locked screen menu. That is it what I've been doing with my I7 2600 and AMD 7700 series video card.
    However , I updated my wife's computer with an I3 3220 which worked fine until installed an AMD 7750 card.(I hate low scores)
    now I have the same problem with her computer. I taught her the drill needed to fire up the display, but she deserves better. Both machines have the latest amd drivers. The catalyst control center was installed but I uninstalled it in both machines.
    (latest driver, not Beta)

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    Go to your power settings. Either increase the length of time it waits before locking the screen and turning off the display, or disable both of those things from happening.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 530 Times in 479 Posts
    Found this via a Google search. Might be worth a shot:
    I had similar problem. When wake up my monitor, the screen stay black. Just enable ''AMD External Events Utility'' in ''services'' and problems gone. My video is 7850
    Jerry

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm leaving for Alaska Tomorrow and will pickup this problem when i get back around March 12th. thanks for the responses.

  6. #5
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by matidor View Post
    I'm leaving for Alaska Tomorrow and will pickup this problem when i get back around March 12th. thanks for the responses.
    I'd take a heavy coat and a flashlight if I were going to Alaska at this time of the year!

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It was my home for 45 years and I miss it.

  8. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well I'm back, and although I have always disabled AMD external events, in fact it is disabled on my two computers with no problem. It solved the problem. Amazing, never to old to learn.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,653
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 530 Times in 479 Posts
    Glad to hear it fixed it. Thanks for posting back with the solution.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •