Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: tweakxp

  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    tweakxp

    I found out about this site from the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.langa.com/>Fred Langa newsletter</A>.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.tweakxp.com/tweakxp/default.asp>Tweakxp</A> is a site dedicated to improving and customizing Windows XP.

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    Having bandwidth problems? Have a look here (on the TweakXP site mentioned above). Even if QoS is Disabled or Not Configured, XPP still reserves 20% of your bandwidth.
    Open up a DUC, choose Properties/Networking and Install the QoS package. Then all you have to do is enable it, and reduce the reserve bandwidth to 0%. Full details <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.tweakxp.com/tweakxp/display.asp?id=282> here</A> or :

    1. You must be logged on as Administrator (not just an account with admin. privileges)
    2. Start/Run and type gpedit.msc
    3. Open (if necessary) Local Computer Policy
    4. Computer Configuration/Administrative Templates/Network/QoS Packet Scheduler/Limit Reservable Bandwidth.
    6. Enable and set to 0%.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    So QoS should be installed when using a PPOE account? Mine currently is not.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    No, mine never was installed either, BUT installed or not Windows reserves to itself 25% of your bandwidth. To prevent this, as I described, you need to Activate (install) QoS, then reduce its reserve to 0%. If you Disable it, it will again grab that quarter.

    Rgds

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    I have had a look at the settings and under QOS Packet Scheduler, I see 3 sub items, but not Limit Reservable Bandwidth. I am logged in as administrator to this computer, should this be network administrator?

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    Hi
    Are you properly logged in as Administrator, and not just a user with Admin privileges?
    My suggestions were, I'm afraid, for Windows XP professional - I don't know if Home Ed is the same.
    What are the three sub-options?
    I'm not running on a network either.

    Rgds

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    Check out this thread over at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.pcnineoneone.com/dcforum/computer/28809.html> PC911</A>


    "Yeah this is about the 3rd time it makes the rounds of PC911, it started with one of those typical Register brainless articles about QoS obviously made by somebody who didn't have a clue what QoS is. You can forget about it, QoS is an Application API that will only have an effect in a network (Router Servers, Applications etc) taking advantage of it. It will prevent an application taking control of all the bandwidth, and you will see no effect in normal Internet traffic.
    Different OS already have that service (Linux, Windows 2000, Solaris, Mac OS X etc) but Windows XP is as far as I know the first one with an interface to control it.
    They say it is a technology MS is planting to take advantage of some .NET services, but this is only speculation."

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    What this article says, and the ones near it, is spurious. They are mixing up transmission speed, connection speed and bandwidth.
    The real test of whether this tweak makes a difference is before you do it, to start to downwload a fairly large file from the net. Minimize and let it run. At the same time, start to download another largish file. When I did this it was clear they were competing for bandwidth. Start again, this time having made the tweak. Notice any difference?
    Only for XP Pro, but not restricted to a network.

    Rgds

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    Hi Merc, Yes I am logged in as administrator of the local machine, not Network Administrator. Does this make a difference? I am running XPPro on an NT domain.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: tweakxp

    Sorry guys I just re-read the instructions. I was looking for the "Limit Bandwidth" in the TREE view not in the CONTENTS. Found it and changed it OK!!

  11. #11
    ileacy
    Guest

    Re: tweakxp

    Dave:

    Recent <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.lockergnome.com/issues/techspecialist/20011205.html>LockerGnome</A> on the same topic showed definite impact on Microsoft Networking

    "I normally point the My Documents folder of my various computers to a network location because it's much easier to maintain one set of documents that is backed up frequently. You'll remember the performance complaints I had with that situation under Windows XP, and now I know exactly why. I had moved everything down to my notebook because I just couldn't live with how slow it was. Saving a simple text file took about 5-7 seconds, which is just stupid. It should be instantaneous. After setting the QoS limit to 0%, I can once again live with moving My Documents back to the network. The impact of that 20% was very evident using the wireless network, and is completely unacceptable. I'm not promising the world, simply giving an example of how Microsoft has knowingly crippled Windows XP when the vast majority of installations will NOT be using QoS. We network administrators are just too dumb to set that stuff for ourselves, I guess. "

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •