Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vexing intermittent Internet issue

    Absolutely driving me nuts already.

    1. I have (3) computers on network.
    a. laptop with Windows 7 home premium- no problem with
    connection to internet.

    b. Desktop with Windows XP 3 - no problem with connection
    to internet.

    c. Desktop with Windows 7 home premium - intermittent
    internet connection.

    I checked all cables, disconnected router and re-connected, ran
    diagnostic internet connection in the problematic desktop, etc. etc.
    Further, I ran antivirus program, and Malwarebytes anti-Malware,
    IoBit Anti-malware fighter, and Super Antispyware and everything
    was clear.
    I visited many forums and tried many suggestions but nothing worked.
    I suspect there are individuals that have faced this problem and arrived
    at a solution. Perhaps there are individuals here that have considerable
    networking background that can pin point just where the issue might be?
    I am at wits end and need some help with this challenging problem.
    Please help if you can and I appreciate your time and effort.
    Thanks
    rpiz

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    rpiz,

    Welcome to the Lounge as a new poster!

    If your NIC (Network Interface Card) is not built into your motherboard I'd open your case, remove the card and then reseat it. If this doesn't fix the problem, or your NIC is builtin to the MB, the next thing I'd do is borrow a NIC from another machine or a friend, disable the builtin NIC in BIOS if there is one and try the new card. If this doesn't work I'm out of optioins. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rpiz View Post
    Absolutely driving me nuts already.

    1. I have (3) computers on network.
    a. laptop with Windows 7 home premium- no problem with
    connection to internet.

    b. Desktop with Windows XP 3 - no problem with connection
    to internet.

    c. Desktop with Windows 7 home premium - intermittent
    internet connection.
    Is 'a' used wirelessly.
    Is 'b' & 'c' wired.
    -
    Do you use 'b' & 'c' at the same time.
    -
    This will show you how to change the order your devices connect. Wireless Setting.pdf
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    Does this occur on the problematic pc when either wired or wireless or both ?

    Usually the first thing to do is to update/reinstall the Network drivers.

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK!
    Super Moderator: NIC is built into the Motherboard.

    Roderunner: (a) the laptop is wired. (b) & (C) are also wired.
    All worked fine in regard to the Internet connection until
    a few days ago.

    Sudo 15: All three computers are wired. The problematic computer (c)
    did in fact work fine for many weeks after the new build without
    a hitch. And (c) worked at the same time as the laptop or the other
    desktop(a) in regard to the internet connection.

    One interesting note that has occurred a couple times,again with the
    problem desktop, during this mess is that Firefox upon opening would
    arrive at the page set; but when I attempt to go to another site it
    blows out Firefox. When I restart Firefox I'll either get no connection
    or it will blow out again when I attempt another site. Also, at times
    Firefox will remain open, but each and every site I get the message that
    it cannot connect to the server??????? I even downloaded Firefox again
    on the other computer and then reinstalled it on the problematic computer
    to no avail. Then again, at times, Firefox would remain open and function
    properly while visiting a number of sites. Subsequently, the connection
    would be lost and I am back to the same problem. When I checked the
    NIC adapter via the control panel, it indicates that it is functioning properly?
    Like I stated in my initial post, this is definitely a vexing issue?
    Again, I appreciate all the help that can be mustered at Windows Secrets Lounge.

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi rpiz, are you using the same Firewall & Antivirus etc on all your pc's. ?
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    Work your way through these to see if they help http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/...ection-problem
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-02 at 16:13.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roderunner: Yes I am using Avira Antivirus and Comodo firewall on each computer.


    Sudo15: Yes, I worked through the items listed in that web site: but no joy. I even reset
    Firefox to see if that would provide a solution, but that didn't happen. Perhaps
    there is yet other options that can be tried????

  10. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi rpiz, I used to use Avira Antivirus and Comodo firewall, both are excellent but can be rather difficult to set-up properly especially Comodo. Click my PC Specs to see what I use.
    -
    What make of router do you have ?
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    It would seem that FF isn't the problem then.

    Did this problem come out of the blue or had you downloaded anything recently ?

    It's the intermittent nature that makes this difficult to nail down and I've known Comodo Firewall to cause connectivity problems.

    To isolate both Avira and Comodo, boot up into Safe Mode with Networking to see if you get the same problem.

    If you don't then uninstall Comodo for the time being and recheck.

    You could also try the following commands as an administrator from the Command Prompt pressing Enter after each, if you still get the same problem in Safe Mode with Networking.

    netsh winsock reset catalog
    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /registerdns
    exit


    Now reboot.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-02-03 at 09:45.

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sudo15 I entered 'Safe mode' and followed your suggestions and entered each of the items in
    the order listed. After reboot nothing changed, and still no internet connection.

    Prior to the above, I booted and Firefox opened and the start page appeared for
    approximately 20 seconds, then Firefox blew out and disappeared.

    I then uninstalled Comodo firewall followed by a reboot. That didn't help because
    still no internet connection.

    I did have an ICON appear at one point with the following: 'Revocation information
    for the security certificate for this site is not available. Do you want to proceed?'
    Issued TO: Javadl-esd-secure.oracle.com
    Issued by: Geo Trust SSL CA
    Valid from: 5/28/2013 tp 6/1/2014

    A separate ICON appeared a number of times: 'Phone Control API'


    Another observation: An exclamation mark appeared on Device Icon
    'driver for SM Bus Controller is not installed'

    Lastly: Question would Windows firewall conflict with Comodo firewall??

    Perhaps the above will lead down the path to a solution????? Help!!!!

  13. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    Check
    Control Panel > Internet Options > Connections tab > Lan Settings button

    Make sure "Use a proxy server...." is not checked.

    Jerry

  14. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,607
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    To get the driver for the SM Bus Controller you will need to go to the computer's support site or motherboard if not an OEM machine and download the Chipset drivers, but clicking on Action/Scan for hardware changes may reinstate it.

    After you have looked at the Proxy Server box, under the Content tab click on Clear SSL state but not sure if this will resolve the certificate error.

    Comodo would probably have disabled Windows Firewall, but as you have uninstalled Comodo then there wouldn't be any conflict.

    As for the Phone Control API have you installed that app http://www.windowsphone.com/en-gb/ho...pp-for-desktop

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Jwitalka: 'Use a proxy server....' is not checked.


    Sudo15: SM Bus Controller -driver update icon is grayed out?

    Given that Comodo had no affect on my internet connection I assume it would allow for
    its reinstall???

    I have not installed the so called 'Phone Control app' ??

    regarding the intermittent loss of internet connection, are there other options that I can
    explore?

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    824
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
    You say you have checked the cables. How?

    Have you tried using a known working cable from a working PC to the PC which has the problem?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •