Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Public IP address

    I was trying to help my daughter, who lives 300 miles away, diagnose some problems that she has with her computer. We are both using Windows 8.1 and I tried to log on using Microsoft Remote Access, msra.exe. She opened it up, sent me the file, I entered the password and it would not connect.

    She ran the Trouble Shooter on her end and it showed that I could not connect because she did not have a Public IP Address. How does she get one so that I can log on and help her? Thank you for any help that you can offer.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Have her open Google in a a browser and enter 'what is my IP' as her query. The top returned result should show Your public IP address is... and the IP address.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 143 Times in 92 Posts
    That's long been a problem with RA. If she's behind a router RA picks up the internal IP her router assigns her, not the router's WAN side (public-facing) IP. And even if you figure out her public IP, her router would still need to be reconfigured to port-forward the RA ports to her internal IP.

    The easiest solution is to avoid RA and instead use Teamviewer. You download and save the "Teamviewer Portable" version and she downloads and saves the "Teamviewer QuickSupport" version. When you're ready to connect, each of you launches an instance of your respective versions. Her instance will generate a nine digit ID and password, which she needs to tell you--say, over the phone or via text msg. You enter those codes in the "Control Remote Computer" side of your instance and voila, you're looking at her desktop.

    Both computers use Teamviewer's servers as a middleman to take care of figuring out the correct way through any routers on either end, then the server steps out of the way and leaves you with a direct connection between the two computers.

    FTR, you can alternatively use the "Teamviewer full version" if you want to permanently install it on your computer. She can also use the portable or full version, though the QS version is likely to be the least confusing for her to use. Teamviewer is free for personal, non-commercial use.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    +1 for Teamviewer.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    Ya +2 for Teamviewer but if you ever have the need for more, like off site backup one or both ways or download files from each other through a feature called SecureShares, GBridge works quite well and doesn't have the upgrade nag and thank you for playing fair screens. I can't get the VNC settings to where I can see the remote context menus but remote desktop works great and it's a nice and secure (VPN), more permanent connection between friends and family especially.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    Ya +2 for Teamviewer but if you ever have the need for more, like off site backup one or both ways or download files from each other through a feature called SecureShares, GBridge works quite well and doesn't have the upgrade nag and thank you for playing fair screens. I can't get the VNC settings to where I can see the remote context menus but remote desktop works great and it's a nice and secure (VPN), more permanent connection between friends and family especially.
    If Gbridge LLC has been handing out free software as its only product for five years, where is their income? (No mention of personal use, or not business use; only free.)

    Just curious.

    Bruce

    P.S. I like that their license is signed by "Ty Coon, President of Vice": http://www.gbridge.com/legal/License.txt

    I guess they got attention deficit before reading all the way to the bottom, like everyone else
    Last edited by BruceR; 2014-03-04 at 15:34.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,335
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 267 Times in 260 Posts
    I suspect that GBridge came from the Google employee 20% side project initiative. Otherwise I don't see how they could be so closely affiliated with Google, requiring a gmail account and using the GTalk servers for authentication.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    And yet the bottom line on their home page says, "Gbridge is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Google Inc."

    Bruce

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Anaheim, California, USA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks guys. Hopefully we can try out Team Viewer tonight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •