Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40
  1. #16
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'll go ahead and try this, but the only 'restore' points were made since the first of this month!. I have just checked, do you think whatever this 'bad guy' is did that also?

    Thanks for trying to help me.

  2. #17
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    Do the restore points pre-date the out of the blue programs and what error messages were you getting when trying the restore points before ?

  3. #18
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I keep getting a nottice that says
    'Your PC has Windows 8, but the info on this page is about Windows 8.1. Update now to Windows 8.1 for free'
    Should I do that?

    And I am in 'safe mode' now

  4. #19
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Do the restore points pre-date the out of the blue programs and what error messages were you getting when trying the restore points before ?

    No, The only ones are after this 'mess' started

  5. #20
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    No, leave 8.1 alone, that could lead to even more problems

    As you are in Safe Mode with Networking ? - you could try JRT again.

    Only use the Download Now @Author's Site download button.

  6. #21
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok

  7. #22
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    No, leave 8.1 alone, that could lead to even more problems

    As you are in Safe Mode with Networking ? - you could try JRT again.

    Only use the Download Now @Author's Site download button.
    Thanks I got them and used them.
    Will check now to see if it fixed the problem.

  8. #23
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    If the programs are no longer listed, then the free version of SAS may tell you if you have any what it considers unwanted programs installed.

    Click on the System Tools & Program Settings button under the Scan your Computer button and then click on Uninstall Unwanted Programs and it will list any it finds in the window.

  9. #24
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok, After restarting in normal mode, Now there is a box that says that I have successfully installed an 'Internet download manager, but I need to do additional actions for the browser integration to take place.
    and enjoy the full power of the I D M.
    I also have a box that says that I have a missing Rundll file. 'the missing module could not be found'. This has been showing up for a several days now.
    And on the 'programs installed screen' there is only about half of the items that should be on there. And about half of the one's on there are one's that I tried to get rid of 'uninstall' but they came back. One is 'snap-do', another is
    Savings bull, Save Daily Deals, Secure Web 'Big Water applications, llc, Genieo innovation, Ltd, Visual Bee for Microsoft PowerPoint, and one with the same icon that says Severe weather alerts, There is one that says, Browser Safeguard also.
    But like I said there is quite a few that does not show up, like there is only 3 of my browsers that are showing up. so i am not 'there' yet

  10. #25
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Also, one of my browsers that are not on the list is skware Iron. I like this one, but now the 'proxy' settings have been changed and will not connect to the 'net
    I now have fixed this I changed the 'proxy' setting to the same as my other browser that I am using now
    Last edited by Betty Ann; 2014-03-15 at 20:08. Reason: add to

  11. #26
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    It sounds like you've picked up quite a few.

    I don't remember there being anything bundled with JRT when I tried the program out.

    I was in the process of giving steps to check that the Proxy Server box in IE was unchecked when I saw that you had fixed that.

    Go back a couple of posts (Post #23) and use the link to download the free version of SAS to check for unwanted programs and you could also do a full scan with it after you have used it to delete any unwanted programs it finds.

    To do the full scan, check the Complete scan button.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Betty Ann (2014-03-15)

  13. #27
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    I'm going to have to go now as it's getting on for 2.00am here in the UK and getting tired.

    Rui is still online should you need further help in the mean time.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    Betty Ann (2014-03-15)

  15. #28
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all of you for your great help. I am now running the free SAS, the last time I looked, it had found 31 threats, and is still going. I hope I am not 'messing' it up by talking on here. I also have joined the 'Bleeping Coimputer.com' people.
    Thanks again

  16. #29
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,855
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    You're welcome and we'll still be here.

  17. #30
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That worked but now, most of them are back. And I haven't done anything else. I mean that I haven't added anything else on here. Am I ready to completely wipe it and re-install everything? Except the bad guys, of course!
    Or is there something else that I haven't tried, that might work?

    I really appreciate the help that you guy's have given to me.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •