New Lounger
    Thanks

Question Further to onging use of Win XP

As an IT technician I have been progressively migrating my customers to Windows 7 (my over 55s are not too keen on 8 or 8.1). Some however are wishing to continue using XP due to financial reasons and the instructions and comments here have been very helpful.

There are however a few who want to retain XP for the long haul offline, i.e. not connected to the Internet and running legacy software. These users, in the past, have used much older OS's like ME and 98 successfully offline now for many years, providing the necessary physical isolation when using removable media to remain secure.

My questions are:

Has anyone looked into the best XP configuration (SP's, Updates etc) for offline (non-internet) use with physical isolation providing the primary protection against infection?

What is the best SP?

Which updates are best left out to get the best mix of performance and reliability?

Is it best to do a clean install or reduce a working install to requirements?

Is an antivirus required noting above physical isolation and which antivirus is best noting that it will probably never be updated?

Is there any performance or usability reason why the original release of XP would not give outstanding performance on PC's upgraded to run SP3 and all recent updates?

Thank you
    Ken
    Australia

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    IMO, you're better off with SP-3 and all the updates you can install. Don't worry about trying to identify which fixes will be for networking only. If the machine currently runs XP well it will continue to run well with all the fixes. I would not run anything other than SP-3 with all fixes beyond it.

Joe

Thanks
    I agree with Joe, and to go further, if I were in your shoes, I might consider making a full drive image of the clients computer
    for future use by you for your customer.
    DRIVE IMAGING