Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    Most bang for the buck - question

    I run W7 Home Premium SP1. Some times my CPU clocks out at 100% for a while (it's an older Dell 4600.)

    If you weren't as rich as Bill Gates and could only afford either an SSD or more memory, which would you choose (and why, please.)

    Thanks,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    How much memory do you have now? Have less than 4 megs, Your 100% CPU busy issue won't be helped much by a new SSD except for speeding up paging swap times. If you have 4 megs, I would investigate further what's causing the CPU busy issue.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Jerry:

    Thanks. I have 4 slots, each with 1/2 meg - 2 meg total.

    Dick

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger AlanWade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    If you are going to change your RAM then two sticks of 2gig should work.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You might want to consider replacing memory in two of the slots with 1 meg sticks for a total of 3 Meg's and see if there's still room in the budget for a 128 gig SSD. $85 at Microcenter but you should find comparable deals elsewhere.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    A smaller RAM total would equate to higher HDD usage (swap file), but not high CPU usage. There's something else at work there.

    Have you used Task Manager to see what processes are using your CPU cycles?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You may be right Bruce, but I've seen high CPU time utilization solved by adding more memory, especially in Windows XP systems that were more frequently sold with too little memory.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Bruce:
    I've seen 100% with TrustedInstaller and with some Excel spreadsheets using a macro to download data from Yahoo.
    The Trusted . . . one happens when I'm not even doing any Windows Updates.
    Dick

  9. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah, but an errant process should be ruled out first, especially if this issue is relatively new found.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •