Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Remove HDD recovery partition

    My girlfriend ordered a new computer and she wants her daughter to have the old one. I am going to have the task of upgrading her old one to win 7 for her daughter.
    The old system is HP XW4600 workstation with XP Pro sp3. I had her order an OEM win 7 Pro sp1, 32 bit disc.
    I noticed that Drive 0 has 2 partitions, C: ( OS ), and D: which is HP recovery. How do I get rid of the recovery partition to make all of Drive 0 one partition for just C: on the HDD when I install win 7 pro.
    Thanks for any and all reply's

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,168
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Lumpy,

    How are Wally and the Beav!

    You need to use a tool like the MiniTool® Partition Wizard Home Edition 8.1.1 that allows you to create a bootable cd which you can then use to delete all the partitions on the drive before installing Win 7. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2014-03-14)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,434
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    When you go to clean install Windows 7, you'll be presented with the opportunity to create/delete partitions,
    if you use the install DVD to boot from.

    or

    Use something like this to delete the recovery partition.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2014-03-14)

  6. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Lumpy,

    How are Wally and the Beav!

    You need to use a tool like the MiniTool® Partition Wizard Home Edition 8.1.1 that allows you to create a bootable cd which you can then use to delete all the partitions on the drive before installing Win 7. HTH
    Gosh, are Wally n the Beav still ALIVE? I remember them well.
    Thanks for the link.

  7. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    When you go to clean install Windows 7, you'll be presented with the opportunity to create/delete partitions,
    if you use the install DVD to boot from.

    or

    Use something like this to delete the recovery partition.
    I will be doing a clean install ( booting from the DVD ) so at that time I can delete all partitions to start with before installing win 7?
    I've never used any partitioning software so doing it during the clean install would probably be my best bet. There will be a learning curve either way, LOL

  8. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,434
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Yes sir, you most certainly can.
    Here is an article from TweakHound that will walk you through it.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  9. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Yes sir, you most certainly can.
    Here is an article from TweakHound that will walk you through it.
    Looks like an informative article but it doesn't mention anything about my particular problem with the 2nd partition (at least as far as I can see). I went over it a couple of times but that doesn't mean I didn't miss something, LOL.
    I guess if I screw it up, I can always start over again. Thanks for the link.

  10. #8
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,434
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    It's under "drive options (advanced).
    Simply delete the applicable partition.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    It's under "drive options (advanced).
    Simply delete the applicable partition.
    Ahhh, so I would delete the 2nd partition and then the 1st partition to make it a clean drive and then format it to put win 7 on. This would all be done from the "custom install" drive options (advanced) at boot up of the DVD. Is that correct?

  12. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    That should do it, using the Win7 DVD will mean you get the little 100MB system partition in front but otherwise the results are the same, one main partition.

  13. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Cool, I think that 100MB is standard isn't it?

  14. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    Yes, I don't think there is a way to avoid it in fact when creating the partition and formatting with a Win 7 install disc.

  15. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,154
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
    Fun and lumpy, good day to both.

    Cool, I think that 100MB is standard isn't it?
    Yes, I don't think there is a way to avoid it in fact when creating the partition and formatting with a Win 7 install disc.

    This exchange went on. That small partition got my dandruff up for a while until I was able to get rid of it. As I could not find any rime nor reason for it, my project was to regain this small space. As you know FUN, I use Acronis and cloning. So, I went to a disk editor, Gparted, deleted the small partition and cloned the C:\ to USB HD. Acronis does not copy empty space so the destination did not show this small partition. I then immediately cloned back from USB HD to C:\ and voilà, zapped-gonzoed !

    Not too important but I master my machine. Jean.

  16. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    It's under "drive options (advanced).
    Simply delete the applicable partition.
    Worked like a charm.
    Thanks to all who responded

  17. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,434
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    You can get rid of that 100MB partition if you so choose with a 3rd party partitioning tool from post #2.
    I believe the 100MB partition was originally intended for use with Microsoft's encryption software.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •