Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Unsure how to use autoruns

    Lately, my computer has been somewhat slow booting up
    (about 100 seconds from start to ready-to-go; is this very slow for a typicla W7 machine?).

    Anyway, I looked at startup via msconfig and unchecked some stuff, but it is still slow.

    I ran Autoruns. I assume when I click the Logon tab I get what programs start at start-up. Is this correct?

    When I click "everything" I get a huge number of items.

    I'm just not sure what to do from this point.

    I am attaching a screen shot of the logon tab. Any suggestions?

    Upon eyeballing this screenshot, do I need Office to run on startup? I don't really use office. I use Word97 and start it from an icon; ditto for Works 4.01 (I don't require anything newer).

    Also, what about the Canon stuff. I have a camera and I sometimes use bluetooth to transfer pictures from the Canon camera to my computer, or I can attach the camera via the USB port. Do I need the Canon stuff on startup?



    Mel
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,390
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    As far as I'm concerned you don't need half of all that in the logon.
    Just remember though, as always, there will be a trade-off; In order to get a faster boot time, some programs may load slower.
    It's up to you to decide which and when.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Clint:



    Can you elaborate on your answer, just a bit?
    I figure I need to keep Bluetooth, Broadband, Dropbox (by preference). I don't see my Norton AV there, but I know that loads and I want that
    I want to keep Rainlendar (my calendar) and Roboform.

    What about Adobe ARM? Doesn't that check for updates and it seems prudent to keep that (I don't want to try and remember to do that).

    Suggestions?

    Also, if I do uncheck some items within the Autoruns program, will they not load upon a reboot?

    Mel




    Mel

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,390
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    Those apps/processes you choose not to load in Autorun's logon menu, they may need to be activated after logon/boot up by directly engaging the program(s) they use.
    If you want faster bootup times, you'll have to sacrifice load speeds when you do use the applicable program after boot up/logon, especially if your hardware is lower end.

    Upon eyeballing this screenshot, do I need Office to run on startup? I don't really use office. I use Word97 and start it from an icon; ditto for Works 4.01 (I don't require anything newer).
    NO you do not need Office loading at logon, but they may take a little bit longer to load when you do use them (post logon).

    Also, what about the Canon stuff. I have a camera and I sometimes use bluetooth to transfer pictures from the Canon camera to my computer, or I can attach the camera via the USB port. Do I need the Canon stuff on startup?
    Again, NO. It's more a matter of convenience to have it load faster, especially if you use it frequently.

    In the end you will just have to test them and decide for yourself.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2014-03-15 at 14:17.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,390
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    Here's what mine looks like...
    0000.jpg
    But I've always gone to great pains to offload what I deem unnecessary.
    And what I deem unnecessary many not exactly jive with what you deem unnecessary
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,619
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    One Item I would definitely disable is Find Fast. It can be a performance killer. To do it right, reference:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/158705

    Jerry

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    198
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Is the correct autorun site to use? http://www.filehippo.com/download_autoruns/9648/
    --- I've seen reference to autoruns sometimes and I trust filehoppo but I'd like to find out first

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I was able to d/l it directly from the sysinternals site.

    I once d/l a program from another d/l site and had all kinds of issues to clean upafterwards.

    Have you used filehippo before?

  10. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,390
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    I try to avoid it whenever possible, especially when you can get the program directly from the author's site.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Download Autoruns and other advanced but useful utilities at Windows Sysinternals.

    Joe

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2014-03-17)

  13. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for all your help. I've used CCleaner and Autoruns and things seem "peppier" at the moment

    Mel

  14. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
    Autoruns is a great utility but sometimes a little complicated.

    Have a look at Nir Sofer's WhatInStartup. It has a very simple interface and, unlike Autoruns, has a permanently disable feature for those pesky apps that add themselves back into the startup lists when they are upgraded.

    Hope this helps...

  15. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,619
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    The one thing Autoruns has that What's in Startup doesn't is a listing of tasks in the scheduler. I've seen cases of nasties hiding there which is why I prefer it. You can also right click on a Startup item and do an internet search on the name if you don't know what it is. That said, Rick is right that What's in Startup is simpler to use.

    Jerry

  16. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    You can eliminate these items listed under the Startup tab:
    Adobe ARM - if you are using Adobe Reader, you might want to consider a different pdf reader. There are several good ones (free) available. I use Foxit.
    Google Chrome
    Windows Mail
    Office Startup
    All of the Canon stuff.

    There are probably other items under other tabs that can also be eliminated. However, if you don't know what it does, don't mess with it until you do know.

    Jim

  17. #15
    Lounger Wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    try http://www.winpatrol.com/ free version.
    it has 'hijackthis' built in under the options tab
    i've used this program for years to keep stuff out of the startup.
    it will ask if you want a program you install in the startup or if something tries to change your home page or search engine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •