Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Secunia 3.0 advice

    How and where do I get rid of Macrovision Update Service ActiveX as per
    attachment, as it advises End of life.
    Many thanks
    Dave


    Secunia.png

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,672
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 525 Times in 482 Posts
    Have a look through this forum thread from Secunia:
    http://secunia.com/community/forum/t...ex_control_1_x
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system, get everything you want, and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Clint, will do.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Dave, if you click the item in Secunia, it will get updated, or right click for other options.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks George.
    As the program has been discontinued have enabled "ignore updates to this program."
    Regards
    Dave

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Dave, I looked in my Secunia, and there is no entry for
    Macrovision Update Service ActiveX
    I suggest looking for the program on your pc using:- Everything.zip
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,792
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 1,199 Times in 1,094 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    Thanks George.
    As the program has been discontinued have enabled "ignore updates to this program."
    Regards
    Dave
    I think that's a good decision. End of life of a program is not necessarily a security risk.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    George, can't find the program on my PC using Everything.zip.
    Regards
    Dave

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    That's good news Dave.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #10
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,356
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 121 Times in 104 Posts
    Last time I knew, Secunia PSI in its lists allows mousing over the item, which then shows the path to the location of the item on your computer. The interface may have changed, but I think this feature is still available.

    Removal is sometimes tricky with plugins, which Macrovision may be. These may not list in Windows Programs Lists. A possible third-party complete removal option is Geek Uninstaller. This program can list these plugins and offers forced removal of the program or plugin, and all Registry remnants, as well as Folder cleanup. Geek Uninstaller works on 32-bit and 64-bit Apps, and is recommended by Kim Komando, among other tech gurus.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2014-03-27 at 14:13.
    -- Bob Primak --

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,192
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 389 Times in 349 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bobprimak View Post
    Last time I knew, Secunia PSI in its lists allows mousing over the item, which then shows the path to the location of the item on your computer. The interface may have changed, but I think this feature is still available.
    With version 3.0, you have to right-click then select Show details (but then you can double-click to open the file location).

    Bruce

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    bobprimak (2014-03-30)

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I use Windows 7 and found this fixed it for me

    http://secunia.com/community/forum/t...ex_control_1_x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •