Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,183
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts

    Network Access Protection Agent -- best settings needed

    Network Access Protocol Agent, in services: Presently set for Manual. Set it for Automatic [Delayed Start]. There is a password within the Properties. How do I find out what that password, I don't know where it came from. I'll be at work, with no Write access, only Read access for discussion boards, I will monitor this thread. I have a Home Network with one desktop, two laptops, one Samsung Galaxy Tab3 -- everything but Tab3 is on both hardwire and wireless. Tab3 only wireless.

    ** After two very nice replies, I wanted to change my title, to reflect the true NAP title: Network Access Protection agency **
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-01-24 at 19:48.
    We're old-fashioned, we still do computing by candlelight.
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 492 Times in 469 Posts
    Do you mean Network Access Protection Agent?
    The account and password are managed by Windows and you do not want to change them or the service will not work.

    Why do you want it to run at start up?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Do you mean Network Access PROTECTION Agent? Based on the description of that service, I would leave it alone.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,183
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    Yes, I was in a hurry, didn't type accurately I want to leave it alone, however Action Center griped that it was turned off. I was wanting to make Action Center happy.

    ** After two very nice replies, I wanted to change my title, to reflect the true NAP title: Network Access Protection agency **
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-01-23 at 12:46.
    We're old-fashioned, we still do computing by candlelight.
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    5,552
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 492 Times in 469 Posts
    Mine is set to manual, so I'm sure that's what it's meant to be.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,396
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 173 Times in 160 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Mine is set to manual, so I'm sure that's what it's meant to be.

    cheers, Paul
    Mine is also set to manual, and also has a password set but I have never messed with this service since I installed this Win7 64bit about June/July last year.

    In fact I can't remember having any reason to mess with this service on any of my own or any customers' computers.
    Computer Consultant/Technician 15+ years experience.
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,701
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 458 Times in 409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    I want to leave it alone, however Action Center griped that it was turned off. I was wanting to make Action Center happy.
    How is the "gripe" worded? Just "Off"?

    Network Access Protection is only needed when required by a tightly-guarded enterprise network which checks your antivirus/firewall/updates before allowing connection to it.

    NAP protects a network from you, not you from a network.

    It would be Off for most Windows systems.

    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-01-24 at 08:11.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,396
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 173 Times in 160 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    ...It would be Off for most Windows systems...
    Bruce,

    Actually it is set to "manual" for most Win7 installations.

    Normally the user should not need to alter the default setting.
    Computer Consultant/Technician 15+ years experience.
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,701
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 458 Times in 409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Actually it is set to "manual" for most Win7 installations.
    Not in Action Center, which prompted this thread:

    Win7ActionCenterSecurity.jpg
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-01-24 at 10:59. Reason: removed distracting background

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,870
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 488 Times in 469 Posts
    As well as also showing as Off in my Win 7 Action Centre, it's showing as Disabled in services.msc and Windows hasn't complained about it.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,183
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    OK, so far, NAP set to Automatic [delayed], and the tiny flag in tray notification area no longer has a "see note" red-ball. Since Windows 7 Pro has no more complaint, I'm leaving well alone. What and where is "computer health" policies/settings?
    We're old-fashioned, we still do computing by candlelight.
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,701
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 458 Times in 409 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    OK, so far, NAP set to Automatic [delayed], and the tiny flag in tray notification area no longer has a "see note" red-ball.
    What did the note say?


    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    What and where is "computer health" policies/settings?
    Why do you ask?

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,183
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    If Action Center complains again about NAP being off, I'll try to find out which 3rd party program may have adjusted something inside computer health policies. If/until then, I'm leaving well enough alone.
    We're old-fashioned, we still do computing by candlelight.
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    3,701
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 458 Times in 409 Posts
    3rd/last time: How exactly did Action Center complain about Network Access Protection being off?

    Virtually everyone else's is off and no one else seems to gets a complaint.

    I don't get why you've decided to switch it on via Automatic.
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-01-24 at 20:44.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,183
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    3rd/last time: How exactly did Action Center complain about Network Access Protection being off? Virtually everyone else's is off and no one else seems to gets a complaint. I don't get why you've decided to switch it on via Automatic.
    Ahhh, I forgot to post this: I cannot recall the exact message. I cannot duplicate the original message. What I remember: tray notification Action Center had a red ball w/X.
    Opening Action Center -- it merely indicated NAP was turned off.
    Because a few here said their's was Manual, a few said their's was off, since I do not know what originally turned NAP on -- I thought it best to leave it Automatic [Delayed] until I find out exactly what 3rd party software turned NAP on. Running Windows Repair (All in One) very likely left it Manual. Next time I will snapshot the message.
    We're old-fashioned, we still do computing by candlelight.
    College Cafe - http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/
    RMS LinkedIn - http://www.linkedin.com/home
    RMS & CoIC Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/roland.stoller.58
    RMS & CoIC Twitter - http://twitter.com/RolandStoller

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •