Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    John,
    I have been assured by our ISP that we have 2000 SE installed and appear to be publishing OK with FP2002.
    I did have some initial hiccups which I put down to the log-in settings - but so far so good.
    Wassup?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    It sounds a bit like the initial address is wrong.
    For example, mine is http://nlw2k4.my_isp.co.uk:11751

    Is this a new web? At least I had one already running with FP2000 so I knew it existed!

    WebGenii is the true expert on these things, but I would say, keep well clear of any directory beginning with an underscore - these are created by FP itself and shouldn't be fiddled with! Normally they are hidden unless you specifically turn viewing on.
    Personally, I lead a simple life. All main pages are in the root folder, with images in images. I have then created some sub-folders, e.g archive for the html files and archiveimages for the associated graphics.

    Your other puzzle - are you referring to a local web, say, on your C: drive? There is an option to 'Open the last used web' in Tools options, but I assume you have that selected already. I also find it useful to have the Folder list always on view, so I can double click to open any files. If you want a fast way to (always) open a specific page, create a shortcut to FP then edit the run line to something like:
    "C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10FRONTPG.EXE" c:websmywebpage1.htm
    (Note the quotes)

    Let's keep it online for the mo - it may just help someone in the future. If we need to talk specific security, offline for sure.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    The problem is that when I do Publish Web and put in the domain name I get a message (before the security screen asking for name and password that the ISP says I should receive next, but don't ) saying something like "There is no web at that domain name - do you want one to be set up?" and I reply Yes, then it gives me a list of four possible reasons why it can't create one (none of which seem to be relevant).

    Since I've never done this before, ever, I'm at a bit of a loss!

    On a completely different tack, have you found anywhere a definitive list of where you should put all the user-created HTML files and graphics, etc, in the FrontPage 2002 directory structure? The one I found from Help is useful, but not definitive. I'm puzzled by the welter of subdirectories of the form _vti_prv (or cnf?) which appear with one of the filenames therein.

    And my other puzzle is: when opening what I think is a Web, I get a completely blank screen - is that what should happen? I can access my Index.htm page fine...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    I don't think the initial address is wrong, for the support staff at the ISP created a test page (in FrontPage 2000 [4.0]) and stuck it on the domain, and I can view it OK.

    I agree that the organisation of directories would be more straightforward if I removed the option to see all directories! But being a suspicious soul, I always want to see what they're up to... Pity they don't say where to put files (presumably they think it is "obvious"!). Certainly putting all HTM files in the root and all graphics in Images seems very logical.

    Yes, the "Web" is still on the C: drive mainly because I cannot yet upload it/publish it to the IPS server! What do I expect to see when I "Open Web"? The index.htm page? I have located it at C:My ProgramsMy Websdomainname and just have index.htm there and the UnderCon.gif in images. [Doesn't all this twee My Programs and My Webs stuff make you sick?]

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    What I see is attached - in other words, a big grey nothing.
    If I don't use the aforementioned shortcut, I usually click on the navigation icon to bring up the web 'tree' then double click on Index.htm to open it up. (You need to build that tree yourself, I think.)

    Bearing in mind you are talking to an amateur here, what struck me was your comment "the "Web" is still on the C: drive". Well ours always remains on the C: drive, or My C: drive if you'd rather <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> - the 'Publish' feature just uploads copies to the ISP.

    Just a thought. When you started, did you go New Web, or did you create your folders(s) then go Web Open? I'm not sure how much FP likes to create as a start-up structure itself.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    That empty screen was roughly what I got, but with far less in the frame down the left-hand-side. I originally started with everything sitting under My Webs but soon concluded this was not a good move, so created My Websdomainname via New Web (I think). I am (fairly) sure that things are as they should be now.

    Yes, I understand that when you do Publish Web and put in the http://domainname.co.uk you are making a mirror copy of the directory structure on your C: drive "somewhere" onto your ISP's web server. Would that I could get this to work!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    naff? twee?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  8. #8
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    Can you open the web located at your ISP without error messages? If you are having trouble "pushing" (publishing) your web from the local hard drive to the ISP - a clumsier alternative is to open the remote web at the ISP and "pull" (Import) your information in. In a pinch I'd try it (for a few pages) and then see if I could get publishing to work.

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    Naff - British slang with two meanings:
    1. <LI>to say something is "naff" means that it is rather inferior or useless (C19?, backslang of "fan" short for fanny (apparently!)<LI>"Naff off", as used by Princess Anne to a group of photographers who were harassing her at a show-jumping event, meaning obvious, I hope (use uncommon, and restricted mainly to "the upper classes").
    Twee - excessively sentimental, sweet, or pretty

    And I even looked them up in the dictionary for you!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    No, I cannot open the Web (any Web!) at my ISP - see previous messages! I think I might inadvertantly be doing something wrong. I suppose things vary between one ISP and another, but all I'm using as the target address for Publish Web is
    <font color=blue>http://mydomainname.co.uk</font color=blue>
    as the example on the Publish Web pane seems to indicate is correct. My ISP's Technical Support didn't comment that this was wrong when I first managed to get through to them.

    I think I've probably exhausted possibilities on this BBS, so I will fight Technical Support at the ISP. If they had published a "Kiddies' Guide on how to Upload Webs" I probably wouldn't have this trouble ...!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  11. #11
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    I think another go 'round with your ISP is required. You should be able to open your remote web. If not - perhaps they haven't told the whole story ... or, there is something wrong with your FP install. Can you check on another machine?

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    Regarding the compatibility of FP2002 (client) with FP Server Extensions 2000, I have come across the following TechNet article <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-GB;q281532&GSSNB=1>Q281532</A> which states:

    <font color=blue>The following features require the FrontPage Server Extensions 2002:<UL><LI>File Upload[/list]</font color=blue>Which reinforces my original question: Is anyone running FrontPage 2002 client with FrontPage Server Extensions <font color=blue>2000</font color=blue> - successfully?
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    If my ISP is to be belived, then yes we are.
    The 'File Upload' simply (?) gives you the ability to add a file upload control to a form - much like the 'Attach a file' control in this reply/post window I see now.
    (If I get the chance, I will try a test page with the above control - if it works I'll know I'm on 2002 SE)

    OK, I tried publishing our web changing the log-in name very slightly and get the window I suspect you see - I did it again with an obviously false address - see the attached.
    If this is what you see, it only strengthens my suspicion that you have not been given the correct/full login address for publishing.

    (BTW - if I try and view the site using the address you sent me offline, I get a 403 - Forbidden message. I was just pondering whether there may be some other security aspect here forcing FP to display the only 'error' message it knows...?)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (4.9 KB, 0 views)

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    Leif

    Yes, you are much more righter than me! Seeing "file upload" in the Technet article made me think it related to the files which constitute the web, but your explanation seems FAR more likely. The window you've posted is exactly what I get after I click on the Yes button following the message "No web exists, do you want to create one?" (my paraphrase ).

    It seems that the ISP has pulled their test page on our domain - I get exactly the same 403 message as you.

    I'm waiting for their Technical Support to ring me (yawn...) and I'll hold off trying to track down a copy of FP2000 until then. Thanks for your, and Catharine's, suggestions and advice!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Compatibility of FrontPage and Server Extensions (2002)

    Is anyone running FrontPage <font color=blue>2002</font color=blue> client and successfully publishing to a website where the server has FrontPage <font color=blue>2000</font color=blue> Server Extensions?

    If yes, I may need to look for a different reason for my problem...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •