Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Is it legal to use old OEM Vista key on another PC?

    Is it legal to use old OEM Vista key on another PC?

    The problem.
    I have an expensive scanner that doesn’t work with my shiny new Win8 desktop, and Canon are not going to develop an upgrade from XP. Not yet having bought a new scanner, we use the local stationery shop when copies are needed.

    A recent piece by Fred Langa about running legacy XP apps in a VM made me wonder whether hardware could be used in the same way. Assured by bobprimak and others that it sometimes works, I downloaded Oracle Viurtualbox and spent some hours reading the manual. Yesterday evening I looked for the XP installation disc, but it was not to be found. It was probably thrown out
    once I was happy with W8 and saw no likelihood of ever needing XP again. I did not visualise ever installing a VM.

    So there is no way to install XP, but there are 2 OEM installation discs, supplied with the other two PCs since upgraded to Win8. Although they were obtained legally with the purchase of the PCs I feel I should be entitled to use them, but knowing that MS’s T & C are somewhat peculiar, I would like confirmation they can be used, and if not, is it possible for MS to know their rules have been broken? Also, as they are OEM, will the key work on a PC other than the one originally used.

    TIA

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,211
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 565 Times in 505 Posts
    OEM versions of Windows are tied to the machine upon which they were originally installed. Also, the OS which was installed to upgrade the PC took over the license for the original OS.

    Joe

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    georgelee (2014-04-09)

  5. #3
    4 Star Lounger access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Exeter, UK
    Posts
    446
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
    I have an old Epson scanner (a 4490) which works perfectly on Win 8, the software is for XP (or before!). I reinstalled the software (but it's possible that I didn't actually need to - I had 'lost' the scan button, but it reinstalled OK). Have you actually tried Canon for an updated driver? And what may seem a rude question, are you sure it won't work (have you tried reinstalling software etc.)?

    My Canon printer (IP4500) is for Vista, but also works fine on Win8.

    Maybe I've just been lucky.

  6. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Joe,
    Thanks for the info, which was as I feared.

    Last night I trawled through scanners again, but there are still very few for W8 (none from Canon or Epson, and i wouldn’t touch HP), most are USB powered rather than mains, which is a disadvantage, and not one was flatbed, essential for my usage, even though the search was for ‘flatbed scanners’. I could experiment with Linux in the VM, as there are two Brother Scanners which will work with it, but they are not flatbed either.

    Buying W7 just to use a scanner doesn’t make sense, so my only options are to continue using the stationer's shop until a suitable scanner appears, or to get a long Ethernet cable and bring my old XP machine – currently used as an occasional foot rest - back into use. But connecting it up every time a scan is needed would be a bind.

    access-mdb,
    Yes, I made another attempt to install the scanner in W8 after reading the replies above, but without success. This time I continued with the troubleshooter – not noticed previously – but the end result was it’s not compatible. My IP 4700 also works perfectly with W8, which is what annoyed me about Canon not providing a patch for the scanner, when there is one for Vista. But I suppose Vista has more in common with W8 than is the case with XP.

    George
    Last edited by georgelee; 2014-04-10 at 04:46. Reason: added either

  7. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,066
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    Three possible solutions, first have a look at this lifehacker page. If you have or can score a copy of WindowsXPMode mentioned and linked to in the article, they provide a technique for operation in Windows 8. Also the WindowsXPMode file can be incorporated and converted by an early version of VMWarePlayer to a fully functional VM that will run in Win 8.
    Final method is if the old XP system is not an OEM install, VMWare provides a free program called vCenter Converter Standalone Client which will make short work of the XP install, converting it to a usable VM (works with VMWarePlayer only of course) that can be activated there and permanently retired on the physical install.

    I've followed through with options B and C and they work a treat. I think I'll have to try A just to see how easy it is to do even though I don't use VirtualBox.

  8. #6
    4 Star Lounger access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Exeter, UK
    Posts
    446
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
    Have you tried a Linux distro (e.g. Mint or Ubuntu)? You can put one on a memory stick (using something like iso2usb) then boot off it. See if it works (some have found that their old hardware works on Linux, if that's you please add your comments). If it does, you can make the PC dual boot or just run Linux from the stick. If it doesn't, well you're no worse off.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    georgelee (2014-04-10)

  10. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    186
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    What is the model of your Canon flat bed scanner?
    --- I know you've done a lot of research but I've seen flatbed scanners on Canon, HP, Fujitsu but I do not know what you are looking for
    --- Is one of the issues that you need a flat bed scanner for legal size or larger documents?
    --- I know you said forget HP, that's your choice, but if Canon isn't helpful for you why discard the possibility of HP or any other company?

    If you want to continue using the flatbed scanner you have now with your XP computer, consider hooking them up & using them; you don't have to be on-line to do so, or do you?
    --- It would save you trips to the local stationary shop

  11. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    My Canon 8800F flatbed scanner is fairly old, now, but still works like it should under Win7. If it works on Win7, it should be fine to work with Win8!!

    If you need a disk image, of the driver disk I could create one for you. What model do you have?

  12. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    9,963
    Thanks
    126
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelee View Post

    Last night I trawled through scanners again, but there are still very few for W8 (none from Canon or Epson, and i wouldn’t touch HP), most are USB powered rather than mains, which is a disadvantage, and not one was flatbed, essential for my usage, even though the search was for ‘flatbed scanners’. I could experiment with Linux in the VM, as there are two Brother Scanners which will work with it, but they are not flatbed either.
    I am using a Canon MG5350 with Windows 8 without issues. It's a multifunction printer and scanning works fine, now even with 8.1 Update 1. I would guess other Canon multifunction printers would work too (best check Windows 8 drivers are available, beforehand, for the specific model) and some of them can be bought from Amazon.Uk for as little as 50 pounds.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  13. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgy View Post
    What is the model of your Canon flat bed scanner?
    Canocan 8000

    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgy View Post
    Is one of the issues that you need a flat bed scanner for legal size or larger documents?
    No, A4 is ample. But one of my uses of a scanner is to preserve articles from the press that I wish to keep, and cutting them out and trying to scan doesn't work, as the columns are invariably too close together and the two or three columns become one line in the scan. So they have to be cut into separate columns and scanned separately. Apart from which newsprint is too flimsy to be successful in a feeder.

    [/QUOTE] I know you said forget HP, that's your choice, but if Canon isn't helpful for you why discard the possibility of HP or any other company?[/QUOTE]

    Apart from the fact I've seen quite a few bad reports about HP, my wife bought one and it only lasted a few months before failing. At that time i knew even less about Vista than now and it was consigned to scrap.

    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgy View Post
    If you want to continue using the flatbed scanner you have now with your XP computer, consider hooking them up & using them; you don't have to be on-line to do so, or do you? It would save you trips to the local stationary shop
    I am considering that, as already mentioned, but a trip to the stationary shop would probably be quicker, although it would stop my collection of newspaper articles from waiting longer for a usable scanner.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    PS. I have finally solved the puzzle of how loungers managed to intersperse quotes in a reply.
    Last edited by georgelee; 2014-04-10 at 14:25. Reason: added PS

  14. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,066
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 234 Times in 227 Posts
    Well I just verified the lifehacker method; however that method starts a 30 day countdown for activation so for obvious reasons I would deem the VMWare player import method to be superior. I don't even know if it's possible to activate XPMode!?

  15. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    I am using a Canon MG5350 with Windows 8 without issues. It's a multifunction printer and scanning works fine, now even with 8.1 Update 1. I would guess other Canon multifunction printers would work too (best check Windows 8 drivers are available, beforehand, for the specific model) and some of them can be bought from Amazon.uk for as little as 50 pounds.
    Thanks Rui,
    I didn't see that listed, not even on the Canon site, but I was looking for flatbed scanners. Apart from the issue of scanning from a newspaper - see previous post - the flatbed serves as a stand for one of my speakers, so that they are not both hidden behind the 21" monitor. It also serves as a store for trading records, how to articles about PCs I have printed as a guide when making changes, and tickets for films, plays, etc that have been reserved in advance, printed and thus easy to find in a congested study. In order words, a flatbed scanner has many advantages.

  16. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Have you tried a Linux distro (e.g. Mint or Ubuntu)? You can put one on a memory stick (using something like iso2usb) then boot off it. See if it works (some have found that their old hardware works on Linux, if that's you please add your comments). If it does, you can make the PC dual boot or just run Linux from the stick. If it doesn't, well you're no worse off.
    I'll look into this, but what is iso2usb? A version of Linux or an app for putting it on a USB stick?

  17. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    179
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    Three possible solutions, first have a look at this lifehacker page. If you have or can score a copy of WindowsXPMode mentioned and linked to in the article, they provide a technique for operation in Windows 8. Also the WindowsXPMode file can be incorporated and converted by an early version of VMWarePlayer to a fully functional VM that will run in Win 8.
    Hi Fun,
    Something else to try, if anyone I know has Win 7 and is prepared to let me have a copy. But it looks somewhat complicated, possibly beyond my capabilities. But a whole new field of possibilities has opened.

  18. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    3,785
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 162 Times in 150 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by georgelee View Post
    Is it legal to use old OEM Vista key on another PC?
    No. End of story.

    As for your scanner, you may be able to run it under Win 8, even though it's not supported. I Still run a Canon N650U scanner on Win 7 - and that isn't supported either. Installation was a bit fiddly, but the same process may work for you. See:
    http://www.dr5.org/how-to-install-a-...-or-windows-7/
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...5-4ba5601d9797
    FWIW, neither of those links quite reflects what I did, since I used the files on the original Canon installation disks.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •