Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Show only text for a link and not the icon on the desktop

    The icon image for links takes up a lot of space on the desktop. Is there a way to have only a text reference as to what the link will open? Say, have only the word Notepad shown and not the icon that goes with it.

    Don

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    365
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    One way to do it would be to put all of the shortcuts in a new folder on your Desktop and then set the view of that folder to Details.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I already have one, it's for all the utilities I use. I have never seen just a name of a program used without the icon/image but I don't see why it couldn't done. It would be nice to have a "list" of shortcuts, depending on your screen resolution, it would be 25 or more shortcuts in one column (or as many as you could fit on the screen).
    Another idea is to use a program like Word to have all your links in but then that is another delay and more key strokes.
    Thanks for your thoughts.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    365
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    Use Bookmarks/Favorites in your browser instead of all over your Desktop?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
    Use Bookmarks/Favorites in your browser instead of all over your Desktop?
    I don't mean URL's, I mean for program shortcuts.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    365
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    Create a transparent icon and then assign it to all of your programs?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Great idea, how would you do that?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    365
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    1) Save this transparent.ico file to your computer. (Right-click that link and select Save link as.../Save target as..., and make note of where you've saved it).

    2) Right-click one of the shortcut icons on your Desktop and select Properties, click Change Icon, click Browse... and browse to and then select your new transparent.ico file, click OK, then Apply, then OK.
    Last edited by SpywareDr; 2014-04-13 at 10:35.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,851
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 251 Times in 245 Posts
    If you don't want any icons on your Desktop, then why not just pin the programs to the Start Menu then you can delete the shortcuts.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,376
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 238 Times in 190 Posts
    Whether or not you are using an icon or a transparent icon, the underlying grid pattern size won't change. Each shortcut will occupy the same amount of screen space. Even if you uncheck "Align icons to grid" in Desktop Personalizations, it won't change the size occupied by each shortcut.

    If that box is unchecked, it would be possible to overlap shortcuts, but reboots, updates, and other strange Windows behaviors might scramble your desktop, necessitating sorting all that out all over again.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2014-04-13 at 12:00.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,106
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    If you had XP it'd be a breeze; just pin auto hiding custom toolbars to whatever side of the screen not occupied by the taskbar. Problem with desktop icons no matter the arrangement is that once something is open, ya gotta get back to the desktop to start the next task. Cramming everything on the taskbar does not work well for me (a toolbar limitation with Win 7) but a custom toolbar with your shortcuts in it down by the tray may work for you.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger AlanWade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Why not delete all desktop icons and use the Start Menu to open or programs? I dont have any icons on my desktop, I dont like them.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    CO
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlanWade View Post
    Why not delete all desktop icons and use the Start Menu to open or programs? I dont have any icons on my desktop, I dont like them.
    I got the transparent icon to work, better but not perfect. I only have about 8 or 10 icons on the desktop. It seems easier and/or faster to have them there. I may play around with using the Start menu, the only problem I see there is if you don't have these 8 icons grouped at the top, then you have to scroll down to find them.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    365
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 42 Times in 34 Posts
    Try this:

    1. Click the Start orb, type in %homepath%\documents and press [Enter].

    2. Right-click any blank space in the right pane and select New > Folder.

    3. Type in My Links and press [Enter], then double-click it to go into it.

    4. Now resize that Windows Explorer window you're in to be a bit smaller so you can see your Desktop.

    5. One at a time, right-click each one of your Desktop icons, drag it into your new My Links folder, let go of the right-click button and then select Move here.

    6. Once that's all done, you can close that Windows Explorer window.

    7. Right-click any blank space on the Toolbar, select Toolbars > New toolbar...

    8. In the left pane,
      1. click the little arrowhead to the left of Computer,
      2. then the little arrowhead to the left of your drive C:,
      3. then the little arrowhead to the left of Users,
      4. then the little arrowhead to the left of your_username,
      5. then the little arrowhead to the left of My Documents,
      6. then click your new My Links folder and finally
      7. click the Select Folder button.

    9. Now click the new ">>" to the right of your new "My Links" link over on the right of your Toolbar.

    Ta Da! There's all of the links you had scattered all over your Desktop in one easy to get to place.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 339 Times in 306 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    If you had XP it'd be a breeze; just pin auto hiding custom toolbars to whatever side of the screen not occupied by the taskbar.
    Why would this be different on XP?

    Can toolbars use autohide if the taskbar doesn't?

    Is it really possible to have toolbars on a different side of the screen from the taskbar?

    Bruce

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •