Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Firefox 28, search engines

    Hi -

    I can no longer alphabetize my search engines. Did research on 'Net and this seems to be a recent problem/bug in Firefox....

    Anyone have a solution? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Star Lounger AlanWade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There seems to be a work around here: http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum119/82.htm I dont know if it works or not as I dont use FF but worth a shot.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
    Am I missing something here? Just click on the (what I call) the down arrow by the logo to the left of the search box. This lists all your search engines; at the bottom is 'Manage search engines'. All you need to do is move the entries into whatever order you require and click OK. There's no sort button, so you just have to do it manually.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes, that worked in earlier versions of FF, but not v. 28, thus my query

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
    I have FF V28 and I'm able to adjust the list of search engines.

  6. #6
    New Lounger NotQuite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    Yes, that worked in earlier versions of FF, but not v. 28, thus my query
    Works for me in FF28
    Regards,

    NotQuite, Not So Damp In Lotus Land

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlanWade View Post
    There seems to be a work around here: http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum119/82.htm I dont know if it works or not as I dont use FF but worth a shot.
    Thank you for that suggestion. It didn't work for me. The date was 2005 so either there's another solution or, as I am suspecting, there is something in my set up that is suddenly interfering with FF letting me choose the order.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    5,006
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 575 Times in 521 Posts
    Try disabling all your Firefox add ons.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 31 Times in 18 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    Yes, that worked in earlier versions of FF, but not v. 28, thus my query
    That is not true, sorry. I do it almost every day on customer's machines and again just now tried it on my machine.

    It does not work in YOUR Firefox; generally it works fine.

    You either have a dodgy extension or some sort of PuP running that prohibits normal behavior.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  10. #10
    New Lounger hickoryshirt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The above method ( click on downward arrow etc) works fine for me. Must be a conflict with some extension. I found Tab Mix Plus the most troublesome. That seems to be a big problem with the newest FF editions. Has anyone else switched to Pale Moon like I have? So much faster and fewer bugs as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •