Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Running simultaneous virus checkers

    Hello Lounge Lizards
    Please settle once and for all the debate my computer group is having about virus scanners. Is it OK to run more than one virus scanner at the same time? We pretty much agree that using two firewalls is not good, but the argument is about virus scanners.
    Thanks,
    Mike Rapp

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,754
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 339 Times in 306 Posts
    Generally, no. But it all depends which ones. Some combinations are OK together.

    Bruce

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    MDRapp (2014-04-15)

  5. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,176
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Mike,

    Malwarebytes Pro seems to work fine along side of other active scanners. I've been running it with MSE and/or Windows Defender on Win 7 HP, Win 8, Win 8.1, & Win 8.1 Update 1 w/o any problems for a couple of years now, of course not that long for the newer OS versions.

    That said, as "general rule" it is NOT a good idea to run two active scanners at the same time as conflicts can arise. HTH
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    MDRapp (2014-04-15)

  7. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,435
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 495 Times in 455 Posts
    Having two AV's installed together is one thing, but RUNNING them at the same time is quite another.
    Never have two AV apps run virus or malware checks at the same time.

    And I would also avoid having two active & "always monitoring" applications unless they are well known
    to work together without conflict, Like MBAM seems to be able to do.

    Some AV apps want to have their hooks into every aspect of your system, and that includes hooks into other AV apps.
    Norton has traditionally been the application that wants omnipresent control.
    So take the time to know your AV prior to setting things up with two active AV apps.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2014-04-17 at 14:52.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Motherboard: DX58SO2*Chipset: X58 Express/Intel ICH10*BIOS: SOX5820J.86A.0888.2012.0129.2203*Processor: Intel Core i7 CPU X 990
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 580*Memory: Corsair 12 GB, 4x3@1600*PSU: Corsair HX1000*Hard drives: REVO X2 160GB*OCZ VERT X3 120GB*5 mechanical storage drives (12 TB) total.

  8. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    I have Norton 360 together with the free versions of SuperAntiSpyware and MBAM which sit quite well together although for a while, MBAM had a compatibility problem with Norton but that was sorted

    SAS and MBAM tend to scan for Malware which can include viruses/Trojans that have slipped through the net, whereas anti virus programs protect from both viruses and malware, although the pro version of MBAM does a bit more - don't know about the Pro version of SAS, but some AV programs may not recognize malicious toolbars/add-ons (PuP) as a threat when they are bundled with downloaded programs.

    http://usa.kaspersky.com/internet-se...e#.U02hMp1wbIU

    http://lifehacker.com/the-difference...and-1176942277

    As previously stated though, you should only install one active AV program as they will conflict and cause a range of problems, but generally when trying to install a second AV, it will usually detect that one is already installed.

    The conflict arises when an AV program hasn't been correctly uninstalled prior to installing another as registry residue or an uninstalled expired trial version is what causes the problem.

    As the Pro version of MBAM is more active, I don't know how that will sit with an AV program - those who run the Pro version will be better placed to advise on that.

  9. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,272
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,153 Times in 1,062 Posts
    It really depends on the programs. I run Emsisoft Antimalware which had no trouble running at the same time as some other AVs (MSE, for example). It required some configuration, but it was definitively possible.

    This said, I think it's better to run different types of security software, that can complement each other. MBAM Pro is a case of of antimalware software that can be run at the same time with other AVs (including Emsisoft Antimalware). There are others, of course. I also think running a HIPS coupled with an AV and other software such as MBAM Pro can give you a good overall protection.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    309
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    If this is the wrong place to ask this subsidiary question , please move it.
    I run MBam Pro and MSSE on W7 SP1. Each is set to exclude checking the other.
    Each is also set to provide real-time protection.
    Is that considered "running them at the same time"; or am I misunderstanding the comments above?
    If it is, of the 2, which one would you recommend having its real-time protection disabled?
    Thank you,
    Dick

  11. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,176
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Dick,

    Yes that is considered running them at the same time. You don't have to disable either as they play well together as I stated in my previous post in this thread. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2014-04-15)

  13. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Smile

    Thanks for all the excellent comments and questions. Earlier I installed MBAM Pro and Norton Antivirus. Then my PC crashed, and it's been a job getting it up again. (The problems with MBAM Pro and NAV surprised me; however, in checking the internet, I see this has been reported several times.)

    Currently, I'm using the free version of AVAST. What do you think about running the free version of MBAM with this? And, if this combination works, adding in Super AntiSpyware? Or would it be simpler to run Norton Antivirus all by itself?

    Thanks in advance for your help.


    OS Win 7 SP1 Pro 32-bit
    Office 2010
    3 GB DDR2-667 SDRAM
    Last edited by csmart4125; 2014-04-27 at 21:31. Reason: forgot some information

  14. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    As the two linked articles that I've posted have advised, it's best to have a scanner as well as an AV program.

    While AVAST is highly rated, you could go back to NAV and the free versions of MBAM as well as SAS.

    I use Norton 360 and SAS for the quick scans as the free version of MBAM v2 takes too long to run on my machine, although others haven't had that problem but will keep MBAM should I feel I need a deeper scan.

    If NAV doesn't include NPE as a scan option, you can download it and run it as a .exe from your Downloads folder, but it performs a Rootkit scan as default which can be disruptive to some programs you have installed because it is quite aggressive, but I haven't had any problems after using it.

    You need to flip the page to select its non Rootkit scan mode.

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think that one antivirus is enough, you can keep 1 active in RAM (like Avast, AVG and so on), and other program like malwarebytes for weekyl scansion.

  16. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 30 Times in 17 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I have Norton 360 together with the free versions of SuperAntiSpyware and MBAM which sit quite well together although for a while, MBAM had a compatibility problem with Norton but that was sorted
    I would rather say that Norton had the problem. MBAM gets WAY MORE positive mentions from people that actually have experience with it than anything else.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    As previously stated though, you should only install one active AV program as they will conflict and cause a range of problems,
    YES, YES! Never run to active scanners in parallel - unless you are really experienced and sufficiently knowledgeable to sort eventual conflicts out.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    ... but generally when trying to install a second AV, it will usually detect that one is already installed.
    I find this a strong statement since I had never heard of this before.

    Microsoft Security Essentials (or Windows Defender in 8.x) seems to be very well behaved in that aspect. Defender just gets turned off when you install another AV solution. But that was a political solution from the very early days of MSE late 2009.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    The conflict arises when an AV program hasn't been correctly uninstalled prior to installing another as registry residue or an uninstalled expired trial version is what causes the problem.
    That is sooo true! I can't count the times when after "clean uninstalls" I have found "residual" drivers and/or services from AV programs still active and/or running. After uninstalling Norton 360 or some McAfee versions have you ever checked with Autoruns what was still in the system? Surprise, surprise.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    As the Pro version of MBAM is more active, I don't know how that will sit with an AV program
    MBAM Free version(!) is in my admittedly limited experience THE ONLY thing needed in addition to a good AV (see below). After manually updating run it only as an on-demand scanner, maybe once a week. No conflicts encountered ever.

    If it keeps finding junk week after week it is a person-on-the-chair problem and somebody needs to change their browsing and downloading habits.

    Good AV: I see fingers twitching towards the Reply button. Here are my $0.02.

    Since September 2009 (4 years, 8 months) I have installed on ALL my customers computers NOTHING but MSE (or activated Win Defender on Win 8). The pre-Win 8 machines include everything from XP through Win7. My typical customers call themselves computer illiterate (and more or less are).

    That means conservatively estimated 2500 times ZERO problems with viruses or with "understanding" the AV program (very important!); only issues with "invited" malware (PuPs) that AV programs so far don't even recognize.

    That IMHO is a strong statement for the useability and real life effectiveness of MSE/Defender.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  17. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    This sounds like the old handed down bias against Norton 360 - it was in fact MBAM after its upgrade that caused the problem by stopping the MMC which froze the computer.

    Prior to this upgrade MBAM and Norton 360 sat together without any problems and it has no problems with MBAM v2# - unless that is the reason why the "quick" scan takes ~20mins for me.

    Norton 360 detects if another AV program is installed which may be a failing of other AVs when they are installed and if this was incorporated into their installation files, then there would be a lot less people coming to forums saying that this, that or the other doesn't work when I installed a given AV onto a new OEM computer or they hadn't correctly uninstalled the old AV program - and I certainly wouldn't recommend MSE for <=Win7 to anyone ! - don't know about Defender in Win 8 but have seen people prefer their own AV program to that.

    Norton 360 auto turns Windows Firewall off on installation.

    As for Norton 360 being heavy on resources - it will use more than the average AV because it is more than just an AV program but has been worked on over the years so that it is no longer the hog that was once reported.

    As a test, I uninstalled Norton 360 and installed MSE and didn't notice any performance differences at all, although that may have had something to do with having 8GB RAM installed but NIS which is a lighter version, is equally effective in keeping a computer safe.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-04-17 at 08:55.

  18. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    402
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    depends


    some of them play nice with others
    but some dont

    i run winpatrol plus a virus scanner, firewall, registry checker, root kit stopper, plus others to stop spyware ads and spam yada yada
    i run mbam in batch mode too.
    mbam may be doing somethings in RT as does the browser and other programs.

    but norton and mcafee never played together well for me

    so it depends what you try to run together



    Quote Originally Posted by MDRapp View Post
    Hello Lounge Lizards
    Please settle once and for all the debate my computer group is having about virus scanners. Is it OK to run more than one virus scanner at the same time? We pretty much agree that using two firewalls is not good, but the argument is about virus scanners.
    Thanks,
    Mike Rapp

  19. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    @ speedball - The reason Norton and McAfee didn't play well together is because they are two active AV programs and you would get the same problems with any other two active programs installed.

    McAfee comes as part of the bloatware in the form of a 30 day free trial on this laptop and following a factory reset or initially installing Norton 360 - it tells you it has detected another AV which must first be uninstalled.

    Which of Norton or McAfee did you have installed first before installing the other ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •