Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Windows 8.1

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Windows 8.1

    I am using Win 8 and have a genuine Win 8.1 DVD. Should I run that from within Win 8, and if so will my program files and data be preserved?

    Advice would bee appreciated.
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    If you select the upgrade installation I don't see why not.
    Of course it's up to you to ultimately be smart about it and create an appropriate backup first.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You may need a generic Windows 8.1 Product ID if you use the DVD that is different from your Windows 8 Product ID. Then after the upgrade is complete you have to change the Product ID back to the one that you used for your Windows 8 install to have a validated install. Why not use the Windows Store to upgrade and avoid all this?

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    A 3GB download is one good reason.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Jerry, I used the Windows Store to upgrade to Win 8.1, but the upgrade failed, and the system then restored Win 8. The only error message I saw was
    OxC1900101-0x40017.

    Apart from the above since the restore the font size in IE has become much smaller.

    Any ideas?
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    I used System Restore and obviously picked a date prior to the failed Windows 8.1 installation, and then tried again to install 8.1, and this time it succeeded! I was not asked for a product key at any stage. I was asked to confirm the last 4 digits of my mobile phone number so that Microsoft could send me a text message with a verification code, which I then entered.

    Now if only someone could remind me how to increase the font size on Windows Secrets pages I would be a happy bunny!!

    Thanks and regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Is the zoom setting in IE set to 100%? View> Zoom. How about text size? View > Text Size > Medium

    If the Menu bar is not shown, right click on a blank area in the Title bar at the top and put a check mark next to "Menu Bar"

    You can also change the zoom setting by holding down the Ctrl key and rolling the mouse wheel.

    Jerry

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    royw (2014-04-18)

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    A 3GB download is one good reason.
    Without a decent internet connection, I concede that one Clint....

    Jerry

  10. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Jerry, thanks a lot.

    Regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •