Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Prefilling boxes

    I use windows IE on a Vista premium. Often I will open a site which wants data typed in, Name, address etc and when I type the first letter the system fills the box with what it thinks should go there.
    I want to know where I would find the file which has that prefill data in it?
    I assume it is a temp file somewhere?
    It often contains errors. Can it be edited?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    About the best you can do is highlight an entry and use the "delete" key.

    Joe

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Have you tried Tools>>Internet Options>>Content>>Auto Complete>>Delete AutoComplete History... ?

    are you using LastPass or some other password manager? those programs can fill in fields other than username and password
    Last edited by SkiddMarxx; 2014-04-24 at 08:32.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to SkiddMarxx For This Useful Post:

    philomel (2014-04-24)

  6. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Thank You SkiddMarxx. This is what I was looking for. I can't edit it but I can now delete it and get rid of the troublesome typos which got saved.
    I find that as I get older the computer more mistakes OR maybe I am getting sharper at detecting them.

  7. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    FYI EDIT Autocomplete:
    Open the fill box>>push down arrow. This opens dropdown of choices. Highlight typo. Del. >> type in correction.
    This works in Vista Premium.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •