Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows Defender Error

    I'm trying to schedule the Defender to scan daily on my 8.1.1 and it is failing to start. I receive this message:

    The system cannot find the file specified. (0x80070002)

    Can someone shed some light on this for me, please?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Doesn't Windows Defender run a daily quick scan by default anyway?

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Doesn't Windows Defender run a daily quick scan by default anyway?
    Yes, but only a quick scan.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Updates come through fine, but Defender wasn't scanning daily so I followed the instructions posted here to set up the daily quick scan, but the above is the error I am receiving and I can't figure out what is not programed right; hence my question.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    That error code is associated with missing or corrupt files.

    Have you checked that the path statement in the Task Scheduler Action tab is correct?

    Have you tried running sfc /scannow from an elevated command prompt?

    Have you looked at the task History tab?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    squire (2014-05-05)

  8. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Checked all and couldn't find anything. How about deleting it and starting all over? Is this ok to do?

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The program entry in the task scheduler has to be in quotes if the path contains any spaces.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Checked all and couldn't find anything. How about deleting it and starting all over? Is this ok to do?
    Yes, that's fine. I've done that more than once in getting a task setup to run the way I wanted. Don't delete the default quick scan task, just your own entry.

    Follow the steps in the post I linked. Use "Browse" when filling in the "Program/script" textbox, and the path will be input correctly.

    Did you run sfc /scannow?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, nothing happened. I did however delete the default scan task.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Will Windows Defender run a manual scan?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    yes, I can run a scan on demand

  14. #13
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you tried re-creating your task for a scan in Task Scheduler?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  15. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Will try it later and let you know how it goes.

  16. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Created task for update and scan, both worked. Thanks for hanging in with me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •