Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Recycle Bin

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Recycle Bin

    When deleting a folder, the message asks if I want the folder to be permanently deleted but on my recycle bin settings I have unchecked the box saying to permanently delete folders. If the Recycle bin settings are correct; why is this happening? I'm using an HP laptop, Pavilion g series with Windows 7.

    Please help!

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,534
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    Are you using SHIFT+delete?

    Joe

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Joe,

    Thank you for your response.

    I tried what you suggested but it didn't work! Any more suggestions?

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,534
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    On the Recycle Bin properties do you have "Display delete confirmation dialog" checked or unchecked?

    Are you running some third party recycle bin protection program?

    Joe

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    917
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    Cool

    As Joe asked if using 'Shift+Delete' then file will be permanently deleted should use only 'delete' to put it into bin.
    Also if recycle bin is nearly full or full it often will ask if you want to permanently delete to save deleting any files still in bin.
    Try emptying bin and checking recycle bin size to see if there is enough storage allowed.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In answer to everyone's questions/comments:

    1. The "display delete confirmation dialog" box is unchecked.
    2. I do not have a 3rd party recycle bin protection program
    3. I am not doing a "shift delete"; only "delete" when deleting a folder
    4. I emptied all but 3 files in the recycle bin; there is plenty of storage room -- no change

    I have tried everything suggested; but nothing works!

    My husband is not having this problem on his PC; it's only occurring on my laptop -- HP Pavilion g series. BTW this problem just started a few weeks ago.

    Thanks to everyone who has made suggestions/comments. :-)

  8. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,857
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    Do your restore points go back far enough to before this started happening ?

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •