Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Work Menu reorder items

    Hello - I would like to reorder the items in the menu but can't find any info. Not delete, not add, but reorder.

    Thank you for your input.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Probably can't be done but, what is the name of the application and the version?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi - sorry: Microsoft Word (2003). Seems years ago I was able to arrange the items, but can't remember how....

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, but that doesn't say how to reorder. Can't find any help when I Google. There ought to be a way, but...???

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Under the "Add a command to a menu", since it says

    Drag the command you want from the Commands box and, without releasing the mouse, rest it over the menu you want to change. When the menu displays a list of commands, point to where you want the command to appear, and then release the mouse.
    you may be may be able to move a command by dragging it? Or delete and re-add it? Don't know for sure, I no longer have Word 2003 installed on anything to give it a try for you.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for all your suggestions.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    I don't have time to explore this in Word 2003 so I can't verify this for you but the following may help.

    The Work menu entries may be stored in the registry so you should be able to reorder them in that location. The following link shows macros that back up and restore work menu and so you could use this as a way of reordering the entries without actually using the registry editor directly.

    http://www.office-archive.com/17-wor...4e666bcf88.htm
    Last edited by Andrew Lockton; 2014-05-07 at 21:49.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,048
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts
    AFAIK, there is no way to do this directly within the Word interface. The macro that Andrew pointed out would be a good start. I've always simply done it by adding and deleting.

    Work Menu in Microsoft Word
    http://addbalance.com/word/workmenu.htm
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Andrew, thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •