Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Angry After service ended: "Updates are ready for your computer"

I am receiving an "Updates are ready for your computer" notification on my XP PC, but support ended some time ago. The last two updates I installed before support ended performed very valuable services; causing ominous pop-ups to display every time I restart my system, and turning the MSE castle red. (OK, MAYBE the updates did other, more worthwhile things, too. I really don't know.)

What is this new update going to do? Make 'warning siren' sounds play through my speakers? Change my cursor to a 'skull & crossbones'? Will it cripple or sabotage Windows XP in some new way? Will all legal copies of Windows XP cease to be 'Genuine Windows' any more? I've been burned by Microsoft before. Maybe that's to be expected since I have been using various of their products for the past 30 years. Accidents happen. Mistakes are made. However, I still don't trust Microsoft!

Sign me 'The Cynic'

2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

+ Get this BONUS — free!

Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Microsoft released a fix for IE8 on XP. If you have other Microsoft products that are still supported the updates could be for that too.

Joe

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JNygren View Post