Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger Jobsdone's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Finger Lakes New York
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool Is it possible to change a DHCP IP address to a Static IP address via a router or device

    Is it possible to change a dynamic IP address provided by the ISP into a Static IP address once it comes into your home via a router or device? Static IP addresses are a pricey charge from ISPs for those of us not running a business. Any suggestions are appreciated.
    regards,

    Jobsdone

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,095
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 241 Times in 234 Posts
    That's one of the functions of a router; creating a local network of IP addresses that can be set to static if so desired (Wide Area Network (usually synonymous with the Internet) to Local Area Network) no matter what the ISP IP address is. I suspect the vast majority of home consumers get dynamic pool addressing from their ISP, we certainly do and have for...ever, though we only use a static local IP address on a couple systems.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to F.U.N. downtown For This Useful Post:

    Jobsdone (2014-05-11)

  5. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
    You can't make your external IP address static, but you can get a domain name for a minimal charge and there are "Host Name to IP" converters that will track your IP and keep your Domain pointed to it. Here's one I found on the net. http://www.noip.com/free/

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BigMac56 For This Useful Post:

    Jobsdone (2014-05-11)

  7. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,657
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 531 Times in 480 Posts
    Bigmac is right but you can work around the situation by using Dynamic DNS - http://www.gnutomorrow.com/best-free...vices-in-2013/

    Jerry

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Jobsdone (2014-05-11)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •