Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Computer not going to sleep

    I've noticed for the past few days that although I have specified that I want my computer (Windows 7 Pro 64-bit) to go to sleep after 20 minutes, it's not going to sleep unless I do it manually. I've looked at some recommendations online, but either I don't fully understand them (involving cmd.exe) or if I do they haven't worked (changes to power options). Could someone please walk me through this?

    Thanks,
    Ellen

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Have a look through this PCWorld article on sleep mode tweaking:
    Tweaking Windows 7's Sleeping Habits

    The sleepmode troubleshooter can also be used to try and pin down issues:
    powercfg -ENERGY
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    Checking Event logs may show something, but how practical that is depends on how much you can constrain the time period you have to look at.

    Do you remember when was the last time it went to sleep properly, and the first time it did not?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Unfortunately I don't remember exactly the last time it went to sleep properly.

    I did the scan with the command prompt and I got these results:

    Errors
    System Availability Requests:System Required Request
    The device or driver has made a request to prevent the system from automatically entering sleep.
    Driver Name \FileSystem\srvnet

    Platform Power Management Capabilities:PCI Express Active-State Power Management (ASPM) Disabled
    PCI Express Active-State Power Management (ASPM) has been disabled due to a known incompatibility with the hardware in this computer.

    What should I do now?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Open device manager and reconfigure the power management settings for your network card/adapter.
    Also change S3 to S1 in BIOS.

    Untitled.jpg
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Before I go and change the BIOS setting, why has this happened in the first place? Everything was OK until this happened, including the BIOS.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    Before I go and change the BIOS setting, why has this happened in the first place? Everything was OK until this happened, including the BIOS.
    An excellent question. You are bound to be more effective if you know the root cause of the problem. But I don't know what the root cause of the problem is.

    As to the suggested solution candidate, for a discussion of sleep states see:
    System Sleeping States
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

    But the money quote is:

    With each successive sleep state, from S1 to S4, more of the computer is shut down. All ACPI-compliant computers shut off their processor clocks at S1 and lose system hardware context at S4 (unless a hibernate file is written before shutdown), as listed in the sections below. Details of the intermediate sleep states can vary depending on how the manufacturer has designed the machine. For example, on some machines certain chips on the motherboard might lose power at S3, while on others such chips retain power until S4. Furthermore, some devices might be able to wake the system only from S1 and not from deeper sleep states.
    Oops. Going from S3 to S1 seems counter productive, but I don't know.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Have you or has Windows Update updated a driver recently?

    Have you tried using System Restore to go back to a time before this started happening?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have not done any updates within the last few weeks. I am wary of updates in general.

    I do have a system backup from before the problem occurred, but I would prefer to solve the problem since I have no way of knowing how to prevent it or if it will occur again. If I continue to get nowhere, I will do a restore.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I ran powercfg -requests on cmd.exe and got this:

    SYSTEM:
    [DRIVER] \FileSystem\srvnet
    An active remote client has recently sent requests to this machine.

    Anyone know what this means?

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    I ran powercfg -requests on cmd.exe and got this:

    C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -requests
    DISPLAY:
    None.

    SYSTEM:
    None.

    AWAYMODE:
    None.

    C:\Windows\system32>
    So I assume it means something. If it had a time stamp, you could try to look it up in the Event logs.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I gave you all the information I have. :/

  13. #13
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    srvnet
    The above has to do with networking.
    Your powercfg would indicate that that is what is preventing your system from going to sleep or stanby.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    So what can I do about it? AFAIK, I have disabled all networking stuff.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Nothing. You do not need to disable anything, just reconfigure the networking adapters properties to allow
    it to enter standby, as viewed in post #5, then re-test the system to see if it will enter standby on it's own.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •