Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Trouble with Windows 7 Backup & Restore

    I recently had a new Windows 7 Pro (64) bit computer rebuilt. I have experimented with WindowsBackup and Restore function, and it seems I have made a mistake. I have an internal 1T hard drive [D:], which I want to backup C:\ to.

    When you go to 'Set up Backup', it assumes that you want to 1st backup folders, which I did not want--I only wanted a system image. So I got out of 'setup' and on the left of the screen, selected 'Create a System Image', which it did just fine on D:. I then created a system repair disk by clicking on it on the left of the screen. Got one with no problem.

    So today, I went back to create another system image, using the entry on the left of the screen. I got a message that said it might erase my previous backup, so I made a copy of the old one. Sure enough, it erased the previous one. Apparently I am supposed to see a 'Manage backup' entry on the right, but Help says that does not occur until I do 'Set up backup'.

    So I went to Setup backup and started thru. I selected just a small amount of data to back up, and checked to get a system image. Then when I started, I get this error message:
    ********************
    Set up backup.

    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled, or because it has no enabled device associated with it (0x80070422).
    ***************************

    Then I went to Restore. Under Restore it says" "Windows could not find a backup for this computer', although I had just done one.

    Choosing 'Select another backup to restore files from' gets me this error message:
    ********************************
    Windows Backup

    The backup application could not start due to an internal error.

    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled device associated with it (0x80070422).
    *************************

    Any idea what is causing this problem, and how I go from here?

    It also appears that the image backups I have done so far are worthless, since they cannot be accessed by Windows.

    Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    P. S. I have read the threads about alternatives from the techsupportalert.com links, but thought I would try what was included in Windows 7 1st.


    Harry

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,828
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 249 Times in 243 Posts
    I don't use Windows back up except to create system images which should be saved to an external media and not in the D: partition which is on the same HDD.

    This is because if the HDD fails or the system becomes corrupt, you will still have an external image to restore with and without losing any of your personal files.

    Go into System Protection and see if using any of the restore points will take you back to before you tried all of this.

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My D: drive is a different physical drive than C:. It is not a partition on the drive with C:.

    You said go to System Protection. Did you mean System Restore? I did the 'non-standard' backup on 5/6. I noticed the problem when I tried my second backup on 5/16. I have 16 System Restore points in between, with lots of program installations! I would like to see if someone has experience with this problem and/or the error messages before I go down this path.

    Harry

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi ,
    On the Backup and Restore window , there is a setting , about in the middle .... "Manage Space" ... access it and make whatever changes you need ... As there's a setting to keep overwriting the one system image ... I'm imagining that's what's happening .... If not .... your destination is too small ( which I doubt at 1 Tb !!!! ) ..Apparently , if not making just one ... it will fill the destination before overwriting the oldest ....

    Cheers ,

    Evan .

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Evan:

    I found the manage space screen. But there were only two options: Retain only the most recent image, or delete all system images. Nether allow me to retain more than one. So I am confused (again).

    Harry

  7. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    570
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 54 Times in 53 Posts
    Harry,

    If you do not select either of those choices, you will retain all images until the space is filled, at which time the oldest image(s) will be deleted.

    Zig

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Zig For This Useful Post:

    bonalba (2014-05-22)

  9. #7
    Lounger BigFatBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    houston, texas
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i use (and like) the W7 Imaging and restore function included in W8. It sounds as if you want W7 to create an image file and then restore that file to your C:\ drive if needed. Your definition for and understanding of a "system image" appears to be different from mine.

    As I understand it, W7 will create a 'system image' while it is backing up you chosen DATA files, and/or it can be used to create only a 'system image' of the operating system on your Operating System drive partition(s). In other words you can create a data and system operating system set of images, a data only set of images, or an OS only image.

    On my PC, those image files are stored on a separate internal or external hard disk drive in 2-separate folders on D:. Data files go to one primary folder while anything with a operating system image goes to a different D:\primary file.

    When you choose 'Managing Data' in W7 Backup and Restore, it simply gives you a *view of all the backup images on your backup image drive; Data, System Image, other etc. If you want to delete some of the files you can do so, but not from the Managing Data window. Data file images are also listed and you can delete backups of a set of data files that have been superceeded.

    *Image files are found in a separate primary folder. Existing Image files are auto magically deleted when more recent System Image Files are created; Unless you move the older system image file(s) *before you create a new system image file(s). See the "Change Settings" button within the W7 'Backup Box' for choices of what the Backup Image will/will not include.

    While you can choose what data files you want to include (by selecting specific folders and locations), when you choose a system only image file only, that is what you get. An entire image of the operating system currently being used on your PC.

    Windows 7 will not restore a 'backup' of data, a system image only, or data with a system image until/unless W7 is pointed to an *existing backup file(s).

    Where do you go from here?
    Start over; preferably from a cold start.
    Choose which data files you want to backup, include an image file of the OS, point the result to your internal/external backup drive, and execute GO.

    I hope this helps a bit... It is pretty straight forward in real life especially if you have experienced success in the past. Good luck
    Last edited by BigFatBoy; 2014-05-22 at 09:33.
    "... don't think it won't happen just because it hasn't happened yet..."

  10. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, BigFatBoy, for the clarification. That helps a lot.

    By doing lots of searching, I found the answer to my original post.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...a-1813b25c3f93

    Item 'vi' on this list, Windows Backup, was set to 'Disabled' on my computer. I reset it to 'Manual' rebooted, and ran a quick test. It worked just fine. So that problem is now solved.

    But this certainly is a bare-bones program, with not much info for guidance other than what I have gotten on this forum. I had to really search to find the files I backed up. So I think I will look for an alternative.


    Harry

  11. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    570
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 54 Times in 53 Posts
    Harry,

    Look at Macrium Reflect and EaseUS ToDo Backup. Many use Acronis True Image, but I wouldn't trust it unless doing fully manual (not scheduled) backups and manual cleanup of old versions.

    Zig

  12. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Zig:

    I downloaded Macrium Reflect Standard version a couple of days ago. I really like it, and think it's a keeper. I had tried Acronis several times over the years, but found it slow and not consistent.

    Harry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •