Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts

    Certificate errors

    One of my customers was getting a lot of certificate errors whenever she would try to go on certain web sites.

    The fix was easy -- I had recently replaced her CMOS battery, and the clock/calendar was way off. I set the clock/calendar to the correct time and date, and the problem disappeared.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,510
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    Windows should have updated the time automatically, possibly from time.windows.com. Was the time service (Windows Time) running - it runs once a week?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,137
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 206 Times in 198 Posts
    I don't know what the schedule was for the refresh on the time, but it was set to time.nist.gov. I changed it to windows time and did a manual refresh, which eliminated the certificate error.

  5. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,510
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    I always use (country_code).pool.ntp.org.
    http://www.pool.ntp.org/en/

    cheers, Paul

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2014-05-27)

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is interesting. I have the same problem with certificates, they appear to relate to graphics for the offending page as I've viewed the certificate and updated them which causes the A/M graphics to appear (sometimes!). I'm running Firefox 29.0.1 and my clock is set correctly! Any more ideas anyone?

  8. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,510
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 220 Times in 208 Posts
    Certificate problems are usually related to not updating the root certificates. Can you supply details of a certificate that doesn't work?

    cheers, Paul

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    blacksmith (2014-06-06)

  10. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for that info Paul. Because of that I have downloaded and installed a certificate update for my Win7 64bit setup. I will see how it progresses and will get back again if it doesn't resolve.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •