Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Time Not Correct

    Win7 64.bit: My clock is always off by up to 8-10 seconds and will not sync. with any of the sites in "internet Time Settings"
    Services show that the win. time and remote procedure call are running but services under msconfig show win. time stopped.
    The MOB battery was good but I replaced it with a fresh one anyway.
    I'm checking the time against an two atomic clocks.

    This clock is the win. gadget clock on the desktop with the second hand running.
    Should win. time in services in the msconfig services be running all the time and if so how can I get it started? (have stopped and started win.time in services with no change)

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    When you pulled the battery and exchanged it for the new one, how long did you leave it out. Normally to reset BIOS/CMOS settings you need to pull the battery and leave it out for 5 minutes. Or use your mobo's manual to find the jumpers to reset the BIOS.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to bassfisher6522 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, the battery was out for about 10 min. and I got the BIOs warning about the time being wrong during the next boot. I reset the yr. day and mo. and synced with "time.nist.gov".
    The clock synced but is 7 seconds slow after about 20 minutes.

  5. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
    I have two computers here running Windows 7. Comparing the Clocks, they are about 3 seconds off from each other.

    I haven't looked into it recently, but I seem to remember that there are usually significant delays caused by Network Latency. By significant delays, I mean on the order of several seconds. Where syncing server clocks was important, we set up an NTP server on the local network and synced all clocks to that.

    What are you using as an accurate time source to compare your computer to?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Prescott For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    You could try this Fixit to restore the Windows Time service to defaults to see if that makes any difference http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...95(WS.10).aspx

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  9. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I should have mentioned that I tried the MS Fixit several days ago. Time would sync but not keep correct time for over 3-4 hours.
    For some unknown reason,after leaving everything alone for the past few hours, the clock is keeping time with the atomic clocks.
    I'll let it run for awhile and post back.

  10. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Prescott, I have tried all the servers listed in the "internet time" and the results are the same.

  11. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    The Internet Time scheduler is a weekly thing, so it may have needed to wait for that to properly sync.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  13. #9
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Same thing happens in skype if you change your time settings.....it takes 12 - 24 hours for the sync to catch up.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to bassfisher6522 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  15. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, the clock is running 6 seconds slow after about 5 hours since the last reset. I'll just live with it and hope it does not cause any problems down the road.

  16. #11
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Is this a retail PC or a custom build? In either case, there might be something defective on the mobo itself...eg the BIOS chip.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to bassfisher6522 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  18. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    It could be worth going to the computer/motherboard support site and reinstalling the Chipset drivers and/or checking for a BIOS update.

    I think clock problems can lead to Windows Update problems.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  20. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It is a one year old HP desktop.
    As I said, I'll just live with it and see if it causes any problems later.
    I'm still wondering about why the RPC shows running in services and stopped in the services tab of msconfig.
    According to the windows time in services it is dependent on the RPC running.

  21. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 881 Times in 843 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boomer57 View Post
    It is a one year old HP desktop.
    As I said, I'll just live with it and see if it causes any problems later.
    I'm still wondering about why the RPC shows running in services and stopped in the services tab of msconfig.
    According to the windows time in services it is dependent on the RPC running.
    RPC is Auto so will only run when it is needed and both it and Windows Time are showing as Stopped in my msconfig although RPC is showing as Started in services.msc.

    The default start for Windows Time appears to be Manual so will show as Stopped in services.msc.

    Edit -

    Have you run HP's Diagnostics http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...name=c01443317
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-05-22 at 13:14.

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    boomer57 (2014-05-23)

  23. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, the only tool on my HP Dia. is a memory check and it is ok.
    I've got to get out of here for a few hours. I'll check the time again later and get back.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •