Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Media Player won't run after upgrade to 8.1

    I upgraded my new Asus Ultrabook (64-bit) from Windows 8 to 8.1. Every thing works well except for Windows Media Player 12.

    WMP will run correctly if I "open as administrator".

    If I open with my normal account (which has administrator privileges) the "Welcome to Windows Media Player" initial settings screen opens up. After selecting "recommended settings" and clicking on "Finish", the "Welcome to Windows Media Player" initial settings opens again.

    I do see a screen flash between "Finish" and the screen opening again but it's way too fast to read anything.

    The only way to open WMP is to "open as administrator".

    Anyone have an idea how I can correct this problem?

    Thanks for your help and time.


    Planckster

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,409
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    This solution seems to have worked to solve that issue in previous Windows versions.

    Reinstall Windows Media Center:

    1. Open Control Panel/Programs and Features.
    2. Click "Turn Windows features on or off" in the left pane.
    3. Expand "Media Features", uncheck "Windows Media Center". Click "Yes" to continue, and click OK to quit and then restart.

    After restart, get back to the control panel, Programs and Features, choose "Turn Windows features on or off" again, check "Windows Media Player",click Ok and then restart again.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ruirib,
    Thanks for your reply.

    I did what you kindly suggested (twice) but it didn't make any difference. I even powered down completely after each change.

    When I click "Finish" in the Windows Media Player initial settings screen, a message screen flashes briefly, and then the initial settings screen returns. After several tries using "PrntScrn" I was able to capture the screen (see attached).

    The screen says "Migrating the Windows Media Player Library". Could it be this step is not happening and that's why it returns to the initial settings screen?

    It seems strange it works properly when I "run as administrator".

    I hope you don't feel I'm bothering you.

    Thanks, again.
    planckster
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,409
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    Hi,

    You are not bothering me at all, I am here to help.

    I am sorry the solution didn't work. I never experienced your situation, so I did a quick search and the solution I posted seemed to work in quite a few cases.

    I don't know what else to recommend, other than suggesting that you change the shortcut properties to make sure the app is always run as Administrator. If you want that, check the reply by Marylin O here: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...2-5ea00f2df7c8

    This can also be achieved on Windows 8.1. All you need is to right click the tile, choose Open File Location at the bottom of the screen, and then right click the shortcut, choose Properties, click the Compatibility tab and then check Run as Administrator.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ruirib,

    Just wanted to let you know the problem has been fixed.

    After a call to Microsoft, trying several possibilities, and being escalated to a Level 2 technician, the problem was a corruption in my user account.

    The technician created a new account (with administrative rights-just like my original account), moved my data files to the new account, then deleted my old account. Problem fixed.

    I learned something new there!

    Thanks again for your help.

    Planckster

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,409
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 1,167 Times in 1,071 Posts
    I am glad you solved your problem and thank you for letting us know about the solution.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Windows Media Player Problems In Windows 8.1

    I have precisely the same problem. I can run the WMP (Windows Media Player) app itself successfully when it is invoked via a shortcut with administrator privileges set on. But when I try and just double click on a media file to open it (right now a .WMV file I received in an email) I get the endless loop discussed above.

    I've tried right clicking the ,wve file and choosing play. if the WMP app is open, after a minute or so I get a dialog box with a critical error which shows the file name and path plus the message text "Server execution failed" I get that endless loop if the WMP app is not open.

    I also tried to add the .WVE file I wanted to open to a play list within the WMP app (that's an ugly, counter-intuitive process) and got the critical error just mentioned.

    I did the uncheck, reboot, check, reboot scenario already, before I did a Google search to find this thread. I also did a "sfc /scanow" which sadly said there were problems it could not fix. Neither process made a discernable difference.

    The system where I have this problem is a 32Gb, 8 CP Dell desktop PC that I bought with Windows 8 installed. I've since upgraded to 8.1.

    I run two Hyper-V VMs (virtual machines), one Windows 7 and the other Windows 8.1, within this user host account along with tons of applications on those VMs, including Virtual Studio and Adobe Creative Suite, as well as within the user account itself. So creating a new user account to solve this problem is quite obviously out of the question. Sort of like being diagnosed with high cholesterol and getting a heart transplant.

    Is there another alternative?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by rodgerbeard; 2014-06-10 at 08:30. Reason: syntax

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    rodgerbeard,

    According to the Microsoft technician, that's what has to be done.

    He created a user account as stated above named "Microsoft", moved my data (User) files, and then deleted my corrupted account.

    Finally, he went into the manage accounts screen and gave the new "Microsoft" account a nickname the same as my original corrupted account. I changed the login password to the same as my original account.

    Now, when logging onto my computer, everything appears as before: same logon name and password.

    The only thing I've noticed is logging onto this computer from another computer on my home network: I must logon as "Microsoft". The nickname is used only on the computer itself--not on a network.

    Good luck,
    Planckster

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •