Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    fixing the new mbam which is having problems

    had a paid copy of the old mbam
    then got the new mbam
    worked okay
    but a lot different

    updated to latest data
    and tried to scan
    but it wanted to reboot first
    and then it did not work when i scanned
    system hung up

    tried to find their forums to ask questions
    THERE IS NO WAY TO CONTACT MBAM NOW through the mbam screen
    and going direct had the same problem

    rebooted and tried again and this time it did scan to completion

    if there is no way to contact mbam
    and get problems fixed then i am going to have to find an alternative program
    the old mbam before the 'improvements' was excellent
    the new one reminds me too much of microslops coding methods

    i need a better way to control mbam through their interface
    and i need to get to set the exact way it runs not a fixed default
    and must have a way to contact them and to view their forums

    without that ability nobody should risk using mbam in spite of what good it can do
    there is too much risk when it fails and no way to get it resolved

    is there some way to contact mbam to ask about problems ?
    is there still a forum hidden somewhere that is not obvious ??

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,874
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    Contact Malwarebytes support: https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/consumer/contact/
    Malwarebytes Forum: https://forums.malwarebytes.org/
    Click on "Create an account" at the top right to register to post.

    Jerry

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    1PW (2014-06-06),speedball (2014-06-12)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 347 Times in 312 Posts
    Settings, About, Help from MBAM 2.0.2 reaches Malwarebytes ticket system, FAQs, forum and helpdesk.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    1PW (2014-06-06)

  6. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 55 Times in 54 Posts
    I'm not having any problems with version 2.0.2.1012 on Windows 7.

  7. #5
    2 Star Lounger cyberdiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    I'm not having any problems with version 2.0.2.1012 on Windows 7.
    Same here, on Windows 7 64-bit. I should add that I've used Malwarebytes Pro for several years and have been VERY impressed with their responsiveness when I or others have had problems or questions.

  8. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 269 Times in 262 Posts
    Did you fully uninstall v1.75 before installing the newer version as in some cases residue of that can conflict with the new version.

    Suggest you use the mbam-clean.exe then reinstall v2.#
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-06-08 at 14:12.

  9. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    thanks
    none of that was viewable from their home page
    which seems to have been as forked like the new mbam version

    i had an account before
    but cant even find the forums now

    thanks for the links


    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    Contact Malwarebytes support: https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/consumer/contact/
    Malwarebytes Forum: https://forums.malwarebytes.org/
    Click on "Create an account" at the top right to register to post.

    Jerry
    Last edited by speedball; 2014-06-12 at 09:09.

  10. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    no

    all i did was get the new version which is what seemed logical

    they did not say to remove the old one
    i would hope they would have done that automatically if it was necesssary

    thanks to the people telling me where the forums are etc
    but why cant i get to them from the start page like i used to be able to do
    all i get is a page that sells mbam with no links to anything useful

    hopefully that was temporary as part of their new version
    i will find out the next time i have to get help

    which will be coming up as mbam no longer scans or tells me i am due to do a scan
    the new version is basically much harder to use than the old one
    even if it may (does it?) do a better job scanning

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Did you fully uninstall v1.75 before installing the newer version as in some cases residue of that can conflict with the new version.

    Suggest you use the mbam-clean.exe then reinstall v2.#

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 347 Times in 312 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    thanks to the people telling me where the forums are etc
    but why cant i get to them from the start page like i used to be able to do
    all i get is a page that sells mbam with no links to anything useful
    You can. Just click Support, then Consumer Support, then Malwarebytes Community.

    Bruce

  12. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 269 Times in 262 Posts
    What other security programs do you have installed as it's not the first time MBAM has conflicted with an AV program.

    Try the .exe uninstaller and a reinstall of MBAM to see if that improves things.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,874
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 557 Times in 505 Posts
    Sudo is referring to the mbam-clean program found here.
    https://helpdesk.malwarebytes.org/en...-Anti-Malware-

    I would:
    Uninstall Malwarebytes via Control Panel
    Download and run mbam-clean
    Reboot
    Reinstall Malwarebytes.

    Jerry
    Last edited by jwitalka; 2014-07-03 at 19:16. Reason: missing shortcut

  14. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    bruce,

    thanks, but ,

    it totally does not work that way at all on my new mbam

    so unless that was fixed with a later update then i cant do that

  15. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    88
    Thanked 347 Times in 312 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    bruce,

    thanks, but ,

    it totally does not work that way at all on my new mbam

    so unless that was fixed with a later update then i cant do that
    When you said, "but why cant i get to them from the start page like i used to be able to do", I thought you meant from their main web page.

    I had already told you at post #3 how to get to the same place from within the program:

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Settings, About, Help from MBAM 2.0.2 reaches Malwarebytes ticket system, FAQs, forum and helpdesk.
    (You may then need to scroll down a bit to see the Community/forum link on that Consumer Support page.)

    Bruce

  16. #14
    Star Lounger 1PW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Hello All:

    Due to the current limitations of the Microsoft Windows uninstaller, many developers/authors have had to turn to task specific uninstallers.

    Malwarebytes has written a task specific uninstaller for the Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (MBAM) products and an official, detailed, process has also been authored for its most effective use.

    After removal, the user may download/install MBAM from the only official source thereby guaranteeing authenticity/integrity.

    If the user requires further assistance, I recommend starting at the Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Help sub-forum.

    HTH
    Last edited by 1PW; 2014-07-29 at 08:14.
    1PW

  17. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    your link worked

    but when i try to get to mbam help from mbam itself on my pc
    i came to a page that sold mbam with no help

    now with your clue
    if i scroll down AND THEN KEEP SCROLLING PAST THE END
    it scrolls UP a frame that hides the information at the bottom

    what bogus bullbleep coding
    one html page would have shown everything easily
    but they use a bunch of wacky scripts instead

    it is NOT intuitive to keep scrolling once you hit the bottom to make the top part start scrolling up and off the content you want

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    When you said, "but why cant i get to them from the start page like i used to be able to do", I thought you meant from their main web page.

    I had already told you at post #3 how to get to the same place from within the program:



    (You may then need to scroll down a bit to see the Community/forum link on that Consumer Support page.)

    Bruce

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •