Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    Although I have a DSL connection my ISP has a bad habit of dropping the connection, often at an inconvenient time...probably because of overloading. When this happens I can usually reconnect to the ISP in a few minutes but I often then find that although I am connected to the ISP, Internet Explorer (and Outlook) will simply not connect to the internet and I just get dnserror pages. The only solution then, to get back on to the internet as well as connecting to the ISP, is to re-boot. Is there anything I can do about this?

    Roger

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    Get a different ISP <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    Are you by any chance using Internect Connection Sharing?

    Fafner

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    Could be the problem. I have a small home network connecting through two NICs with ICS. ICS started OK originally then mysteriously stopped working and nothing I have been able to do has got it started again! But what exactly is a router and how do you connect it up?

    Roger

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    This was exactly the same problem I had. I have been told that this is a common problem with ICS using two NICs. As it was explained to me, Windows gets confused, when you have two NICs, which direction to send packets and tries to send data intended for the internet to your LAN and naturally doesn't get a response. (I'm just repeating heresay.) This was when I discovered that my DSL modem was actually a router -- I looked on the back and found more than one port for my ethernet cables. That's about all I know about routers. I'm sure others in this forum can tell you much more than I can.

    Fafner

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6.0 stops functioning (IE6.0)

    Here's a workaround that may work for you if you also have a dialup connection to fall back on. It's still a nuisance, but it is not as bad as rebooting. Close IE, then open a dialup connection (when I used this workaround, I put a shortcut on my desktop for this purpose). Open IE again, and it should find the internet. Then close the dialup connection and refresh IE. It should find the NIC connection again. Worked for me.

    Fafner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •