Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Virus scumware, annoyware, or bad hackers coding ?

    Installed new epson V550 scanner.
    Now one of their dlls keeps trying to access the internet.
    It comes from 'event manager' which the help desk said I dont need.
    I am only using the scan program and all work is local.

    Why would their other program keep phoning home?
    Norton blocks it per each try.
    Windows firewall finally got itself involved and let me block it forever.

    WHY would any program keep trying to go out on the internet without asking me first?
    That has to be a humongous security hole and an invitation to let scumware destroy your PC and take it over.

    So , could this be a virus that snuck into epsons CD?
    Or just some dumb hackers ASSuming that users dont mind that they play games with our PC?
    Or what could be the reason?

    I see this occasionally from Brother software but not as annoying as epson.
    Not sure if they are trying to update something
    (I do NOT want any updates ever! All they do is cause problems!!)
    or stealing personal data or what.

    Why should any program be phoning home without my permission ?

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    While it is possible that Epson distributed an infected CD it is more likely the program is checking for updates. It is not unusual for programs to "phone home" regularly even daily to check for updates. By agreeing to the license you probably gave permission for the program to check. You can use a tool such as Autoruns or WhatInStartup to manage what gets started when you boot the PC. NOTE: Autoruns produces a massive amount of information. You should be concerned with the "Logon" tab.

    Joe

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    1PW (2014-08-15),speedball (2014-08-21)

  5. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    no program should ever check for updates without asking first

    more updates cause bad problems often terminal ones
    than ever make anything better

    if i have a problem i should be able to selectively get the proven updates that i need and nothing more

    this is imho a serious problem that they think they can just run my pc the way they think is good for them without any permission

  6. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,543
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 614 Times in 550 Posts
    The vendors see automatic updates as a feature. Flash, Chrome, FF, & others phone home by default. It is very easy to miss the chance to disable this activity. Even if you do disable the update process one time often the update defaults are reverted when you next update.

    Sorry but the only way to avoid this is to check the settings for all you installed programs and then be vigilant every time you install a new program or update an old one.

    Joe

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    speedball (2014-08-28)

  8. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,751
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 545 Times in 493 Posts
    Right on Joe.

    Jerry

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    I think I would contact Epson on this just to ascertain that it was phoning home and that you hadn't picked anything up - they should also be able to advise you if it was possible to disable this during a reinstall if it is built into the install.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •