Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Document display and print preview don't match, but preview and printout match

    My boss, a lawyer, uses a lot blank, underlined spaces in his legal documents (for signatures and such). Normally we use the underline with the Shift + Tab to create the spaces.

    The lines aren't showing up in the document while he's in the editing screen (i.e. the normal view where you're typing it all up), but when he goes to print preview, the lines are there. They also print out as they should.

    The problem is that because he can't see them while he's typing, he puts new ones in, then there are weird half double underlined blank spaces in the print preview and final document in places. He's wasting a lot of time messing with it. And he describes it as chronic.

    Normally, the problem is the reverse (formatting in the document not printing).

    His machine is running Windows 8 with Office 2010.

    I spent some time trying to fix it but I'm lost. I haven't found an answer to this problem anywhere else after quite a bit of time searching various combinations of keywords.

    Any advice appreciated.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,111
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 242 Times in 235 Posts
    The only thing I would know is to try the reveal hidden [formatting] characters while editing to see if they reappear.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West USA
    Posts
    502
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    NotDorothy,

    It pains me to hear that your boss struggles with this every time -- spacing? Yikes! However, finding a way to get an attorney to take time from his practice to learn stuff is one of the great mysteries of the Universe. So maybe you could start with something a little more practical and work on the other stuff over the long-run. Are you familiar with AutoText?

    Fun Fact: Word 2010 added back the AutoText functionality of Word 2003 IF you save your AutoText in the Normal.dotm template (and you will by default). Create your signature block, then select it. Press Alt+F3 to get the "Create New Building Block" dialog.

    save to at.png

    Make sure the Gallery is set to AutoText -- it should be by default. When your boss starts to type the name of the AutoText (it should be at least four characters long), he'll get the prompt to press enter to insert the AutoText. To make it easy, tell him to make sure his cursor is where he wants the signature block before he starts typing the name of the AutoText entry.

    insert xsig.png

    So you know, AutoText and Building Blocks can be managed through the Quick Parts button on the Insert tab of the ribbon:

    Quick Parts.png

    Hope this helps!

    Best, Kim
    Last edited by kmurdock; 2014-06-17 at 13:03. Reason: clarity

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm having him try the reveal hidden text. (He went to an appointment, so I won't know for a while whether this is the solution.)

    When I looked up a how-to, I noticed that “print hidden text” is a separate check box in that menu in the site's screenshot, so I think the lines may be printing because it’s checked, but not appearing because the show “hidden text” box isn’t checked.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,699
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 63 Times in 61 Posts
    Have him do his typing in the print view instead of draft view.

    Legal Users Guide to Microsoft Word
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  7. #7
    Lounger rodsmine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Check the line spacing...
    If the line spacing for that style is set to "exactly", then the lines won't show up except in print preview. Subscripts and superscripts are also cut off when viewing in a mode other than print preview. This stops lines from looking like they are 1.5 or double-spaced when [parts of] characters go above or below the baseline for text.

    Changing line spacing to anything else (such as "automatic") will allow the characters to show up in other than print preview, but some lines will look like they are spaced incorrectly; this line spacing sometimes carries through to the printed document.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    There's another tiny issue here, and I mean that literally. The underline character is often slightly lower on the line than the underline drawn under a word or a tab. In some programs, they even have a different thickness from each other.

    underline comparison.png

    Underline a few tabs, then turn underline off, and type the underline character without any space in between. (This is Times New Roman 12 pt.) You might not see the offset on your monitor set at 100% zoom, but you'll see it when you print it out. This may explain why your method works and his doesn't.

    One other possibility is that it's not Word but his hardware. Does he have a different monitor? If you open one of his documents on your computer, are the lines missing?

    Can you post one of his (sanitized) documents? And one of yours, too, for comparison?

    Kim

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •