Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    New Lounger Frozwire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cthiggin View Post
    I'm going to try and "trick" my new hd - I'm going to boot it on my older machine (one I did clone from) do a registry hack that converts it to AHCI controlled drive - remove it and install it back into my new machine to see if that will work???
    Yeah, that might work. Good Luck

  2. #17
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To ALL - IT WORKED

    I reinstalled my new cloned hd to my older pc (that I had made the clone from) - booted up to desktop -
    Applied the registry hack, rebooted, it worked fine after the hack.

    REMOVED this hacked reg. drive, moved it back to my new pc - booted it up - AND with my jaw dropped to the ground - it booted to desktop FINE - no Win Repair Install had to be done...still can't believe it.
    Installed my new mb drivers and software and all is working flawlessly......

    Check Device Manager as well as EUFI, and the drive IS NOW a AHCI drive..............home free folks.......again, I'm still in shock & awe.........

    Thanks folks...maybe this hack will help some other folks doing a new build???

    Many blessings and again, thanks so much for your interest and replies in helping me..

    Tom

  3. #18
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,833
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    Glad things have worked out for you but just as a matter of interest, as this was going onto a new mobo (?), how did you get around the product key issue ?

  4. #19
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sudo15,
    I still have to re-activate OS w/Microsoft. On line / or call them. Never been an issue "for me".
    Thanks so much.

    Tom

  5. #20
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,833
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 250 Times in 244 Posts
    You can still get some who think they can transfer everything to a new computer and expect it to work, although I didn't think this of you - it's just that I begrudge paying for anything so just thought I'd ask.

  6. #21
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sudo15,
    This is the 8th time I've done this with new builds and has always worked. I'm so happy that the reg. hack worked to make the drive AHCI compliant....
    This is the very first time I have NOT had to do a repair install - I have checked all my programs and they are working fine - everything is in it's place, bio shows AHCI mode on my hd...
    So, at this point I am a very very Happy Camper.....easiest build yet.

    Thanks so much.......

    Tom

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •