New Lounger
    Thanks

MS Word- Can I find replace text items with Table item?

Hi, I am a novice user of Excel and Word. I created a document which has a lot of items in it which is pretty standardized. Instead of replacing a bunch of items each time, I created a table with the items (both in Excel and Word) that I would like the Word file to reference. Such that when I create a new file, I just update the parameters one time in the table and it auto fills in all of the items linked to that cell.

For example if I do a project that uses a Dewalt drill. In the text, I reference the Dewalt drill 10 times. Instead of replacing Dewalt Drill 10 times, I would like to map each instance to a table (Excel or within the word document) and specific cell. If on the next project I do the project with a Ryobi drill, all 10 cells update automatically. Now I actually have about 20 different items I would like to be referenced about 5-30 times each. So while this is a heavier upfront investment, I would prefer to be able to simply the process long term.

Thank you for your help in advance. I hope my explanation was adequate of what I am trying to accomplish.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    There are several possible ways to achieve this.

Personally I would do this by inserting Content Controls and linking them to a custom xml file. This is best done by using a third party tool - Word 2007 Content Control Toolkit do do the linking and embedding of the xml file.

Another option is to bookmark the first instances of each term and then use cross-references in each of the other locations.

The final option is to create a macro which does a series of find/replaces using a table as input.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

Super Moderator
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Thanks