New Lounger
    Thanks

Adding Outlook alerts and email functionality to Excel spreadsheeet

Good Morning all and thanks for any help in advance! I manage a data center with a staff of 7 computer operators. The main aspect of their job is to follow a run book and perform a series of tasks throughout their shift. This process is currently paper driven with really no controls in place. I'm currently in the process of creating an excel document that will track their daily tasks and at the end of their shift submit to me via email a completed shift document. I have some general conditioning and formatting built in and I am by no means an excel pro. A few controls I would like incorporate would be the operator not be able to submit the document without all tasks being completed and possibly them even be emailed reminders during their shift on tasks that have not been completed at stated time. I've attached the current state of the spreadsheet and I again, I appreciate any and all assistance!
    Kevin
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks
    Your question is pretty general and the answers will depend on many things.

Could you walk us through what you envision what a user would do, and what you would want the program to do and when? Do you want code running all the time excel is open or only check things based on particular actions (buttons, cells changing, selection, etc).

Also, are you emailing from outlook or some other program, and what do you want emailed and when?

Steve

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by sdckapr View Post
    Your question is pretty general and the answers will depend on many things.

Could you walk us through what you envision what a user would do, and what you would want the program to do and when? Do you want code running all the time excel is open or only check things based on particular actions (buttons, cells changing, selection, etc).