Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33
  1. #16
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    Switching the power off with the case switch would/should have the same effect as pulling the plug when it is working correctly, so I'll wait to see how you get on.

  2. #17
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have never used the case switch to switch the computer OFF, only ever to start it.

  3. #18
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    It's been a few years since I've been around a desktop - what's the make & model of yours ?

  4. #19
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    See specs at start of this thread on page 1. It is a custom built job

  5. #20
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    I've been having a chat with someone who is into hardware/builds about this and he explained that case switches these days were Logic switches and not the on/off of days of old.

    He reckons this could point to the PSU and at worse, the mobo, although he was also puzzled as to why it would work perfectly up to ~3 days after having the cord pulled for about a week, but to eliminate the case switch, disconnect that from the mobo and momentarily short its pins on the mobo to see if it then fires up normally - but you would need to eliminate the PSU before considering the mobo.

    While you are in there I suppose you could check the mobo's caps for any swelling of the top of the cans as that is a pointer to a failing cap.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-07-03 at 12:28.

  6. #21
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,774
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 340 Times in 307 Posts
    What is the power button set to do at Control Panel, Power Options, Choose what the power button does?

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Set to SHUT DOWN, although I have tried other settings, including DO NOTHING

  8. #23
    3 Star Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Kotuku

    Have you tried "shutdown.exe /s /f /t 00" to shut down or turning off "FastStartup" ??


    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #24
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have tried shutdown.exe /s that did nothing for the problem. Also, if you read some of the initial posts, turning off FastStartUp did nothing.
    Tried last night turning it off by pressing the power button. That did not make it start-up properly this morning.

    Will try the other switches on shutdown.exe tonight.

  10. #25
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    Do you still intend to open it up over the weekend and then you can carry out that switch test and mobo inspection.

    With it opened up you will have pulled the power cord so you may have to start and stop it a few times to replicate the delayed start before you disconnect the case switch to short out the pins.

  11. #26
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have my Grandson (IT Uni student) here tomorrow to replace the switch and will check internals then. I am not so comfortable around hardware delving.

  12. #27
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, an update. The shutdown.exe with /s /f /t 00 did not work.

    When I went to replace the on/off switch, I realised the case manufacturer NZXT had sent the wrong part, so couldn't replace it.

    Inspected all the MoBo and capacitors and everything looks fine.

    Looks like I leave it powered up overnight as my only solution.

    Anyone want to buy a boat anchor????

  13. #28
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    Did you have your grandson try shorting the pins on the mobo with the switch disconnected to see if the problem persists ?

    That would confirm or eliminate the switch as the problem.

  14. #29
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Unfortunately we didn't try that. I assume the on MoBo 'start' button would do the same as shorting, as it was difficult to get to the actual switch internals on this case.
    We didn't try the MoBo start button either! I thought of that afterwards!

  15. #30
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 252 Times in 246 Posts
    I did a Google on changing the switch on the day I posted the suggestion as I was told it to see what was involved, but was unable to find any instructions.

    If the switch is difficult to get to, are you going to bother with trying to get the correct one sent out to you ?

    I don't suppose you'll have a spare PSU kicking about to eliminate the one fitted ?

    Edit - Just as an afterthought, it could be worth checking the mobo earth terminal for cleanliness and security.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-07-06 at 17:46.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •