Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31
  1. #16
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,146
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 248 Times in 241 Posts
    GUID Partition Table; allows for a great many more partitions per disk and native addressing above 2.2 terabytes, but, more importantly now,it is the standard disk type for all OEM systems carrying Windows 8, no matter what the size. I prefer the simpler MBR myself and let my NAS devices handle all the three and four TB GPT disks.

  2. #17
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Ahhh, thanks for the explanation. I guess mine would be MBR then, 1 TB and just sys reserved and C on it. So EaseUS should work ok then.

  3. #18
    Silver Lounger mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,185
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 213 Times in 205 Posts
    If one or both drives are either Maxtor or Seagate, you can get the free Seagate DiscWizard software:
    http://www.seagate.com/support/inter...ard-master-dl/

    That's what I use. I have found it to be a solid, good product for cloning a disk.

  4. #19
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Thanks, yes both HDD's are Seagate. I'll check out your link.

  5. #20
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    One tool not many mention is the Backup and Restore tool found in the Control Panel of Windows 7 ... It will create a system image for you ... but it's not a bit-for-bit copy ... so needs the Rescue CD to allow booting , to restore it ....

  6. #21
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Thanks, I prefer cloning a disk that boots up as a complete copy of when it was cloned.

  7. #22
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Best programme for cloning is undoubtedly Acronis True Image.... also allows you to clone directly to different sized HDD's and to make images to restore from. I have used it in various versions since around 2006. Brilliant!
    It may cost a little, but it works the best!

  8. #23
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Thanks, I have heard of Acronis for many years but doesn't it require a boot disk to work?

  9. #24
    Star Lounger Wiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    http://www.xxclone.com/
    i've used this free product for years, trouble free. I can't recommend it high enough. unlike other programs, this one will let you reinstall individual files.

  10. #25
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Acronis installs as a Windows programme. It can create an image whilst you continue working, but to clone a HDD to another, it requires a re-boot.... it re-boots itself, and the clone simply continues until complete, then the machine restarts (or shuts down as you prefer) leaving a perfect replica of your HDD on the second one.
    You can create an image on any location you can access with windows (obviously cloud would be a problem because of the size of the data - but there is actually an option fo that, too!) HDD Clone can be to internal or USB Drive (or eSata or others which I have not tried).
    Once you have created an image, it is quick to update as a backup, too.....

    I Highly recommend!

  11. #26
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Oh yes - Acronis also allows you to create either a boot disk or flash drive to recover from total disaster.....

  12. #27
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,986
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 572 Times in 518 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiley View Post
    http://www.xxclone.com/
    i've used this free product for years, trouble free. I can't recommend it high enough. unlike other programs, this one will let you reinstall individual files.
    Almost all imaging programs will allow you to restore individual files - Acronis, Macrium, and Easus To Do are examples.

    Jerry

  13. #28
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    AOMEI is a great clone/backup or whatever. But must make and use a boot disk.
    Acronis True image can work without a boot disk, but won't work at all on some older CPU's. You can get a free edition that works for 30 days.
    I had 15 XP laptops to install win7 on. Converted one to 7 and then cloned from that disk to the rest with AOMEI

  14. #29
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Well, after going back and forth with Casper support, it turns out that there is a setting in Casper options that has to be disabled to boot the USB drive internally. That means that I have to start from scratch and reclone. Hopefully this fixes the problem since I already paid for Casper. All I can do is try it and see.

  15. #30
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Well after 3 weeks of support back and forth with Casper, I finally found out what the fix is, so I will be staying with what I paid for. FYI, when you clone to a USB drive enclosure, Casper changes the driver load order and there is a setting that has to be unchecked to facilitate booting the drive internally on the computer. That setting is not mentioned ANYWHERE in their guide or literature.
    Thanks to all who offered their help and opinions.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •