Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    "Could not find installable ISAM" error in Excel linked doc

    I recently received this error when opening an 2013 Excel spreadsheet linked to 2013 Access. This is an inherited project and it has always worked fine. What could cause an error like this?

    Within Excel the Data>Edit Links option is now greyed out. Normally I need to manually update those links after opening. When I clicked REFRESH I received an error "Excel cannot open the connection file located at 'path&filename.accdb' and will not perform the refresh operation."

    I've closed and reopened both Access and Excel. It did finally put some data in the spreadsheet, but based on some spot checks I don't think it connected to the new imported data. I can't trust the data now, and it's very hard to manually check it.

    Can you help me with the connection between Access and Excel?

    Thanks!

    ~ MrsDevine
    Last edited by MrsDevine; 2014-07-03 at 11:37.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    MrsDevine,

    Welcome to the Lounge as a new poster.

    Give this MS Article a look. HTH

    P.S. It is always a good idea to identify the version of products you are using, e.g. Access 2003 or Access 2010, etc.
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2014-07-21 at 06:10.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the reply, RetiredGeek. I added the MS version # to my post (2013). I don't see a link to the article you recommended. Will you please let me know the title and I can search for it.

    ~ MrsDevine

  5. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,534
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
    Check out what Google has to offer, I came across this link:
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5...stallable-isam
    Last edited by patt; 2014-07-21 at 05:18.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    MsDevine,

    Sorry about the missing link. I've edited the post to add the link. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the ideas. The problem just fixed itself. Help on my end thinks it had to do with an IP address change somewhere that found itself later ?!?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •