Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Frequent reports of 'Problem Files' with TeraCopy.

    Last year I changed from using Win XP on a desktop to using W7 Home 64bit on a new laptop. I then started to notice that copy or move of large files produced unreported errors. The files were pairs for use with a mapping program. Every map has an image file, plus a small calibration text file.

    The larger images were occasionally corrupted, which did not become apparent until much later, when I attempted to load thetransfered files from USB 2TB drives. Apparently others, mainly with large .mp3 files had similar problems. The cause is uncertain. I think that it's W7 Home, but some think that it's a USB driver problem.

    I solved the problem by using a different laptop that runs W7 Pro 64bit and using TeraCopy version 2.3. Not for it's claimed speed, but because I can use CRC verification with TeraCopy.

    I am now organising my many files and using TeraCopy to copy/move them, but I keep getting reports of Problem Files.

    The CRC column shows the same CRC for source and destination files. Both open without problems. But many files get copied rather than moved in a move action.

    So far I've not discovered any corrupted files, but these continuous problem files are annoying and time wasting.

    Has anyone found similar problems or suggest a solution?

    Another program would be acceptable. I recall that in the days of DOS, it was possible to switch on verify for file actions. Is this possible in W7?

    For many years, I've used ViceVersa for all file backups and have now started to use CRC verification with all comparisons and copy actions. VV is ideal for many files and many folders, but to move individual files using drag&drop, it's a very slow process to setup a profile for single files!

    Incidentally, I've never had CRC errors with VV except when using it on that Win 7 Home laptop. So I've stopped using it with large files!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,131
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 247 Times in 240 Posts
    Is this problem reporting common to all sorts of destinations, say network and other devices, or just to local USB drives? Are the local drives portable? If it was just the local drives where the errors were reported, might not have a consistent enough power output to run them properly 100% of the time or the original connection cable may have been pinched at some point and is introducing erratic copy behavior.

    I don't think it's W7 itself in conjunction with using TeraCopy because that what I use with all my W7 platforms and I copy and move several hundred gigabytes a month without issue.

    So if you can isolate one or two more commonalities that should help eliminate what it is not, if not point directly at the problem.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The problem is occurring on four drives. The laptop's C: and three WD 2TB USB3 drives, which I use for archiving, back-up and general use as I've stopped using a desktop with two drives. I use ViceVersa to keep all three USB drives identical and to keep files also on C:, identical on the three USB drives. CRC checking is now always on in VV with W7, but was never used with XP on the desktop.

    My present task where I'm noticing TeraCopy's problem files is occurring when I'm only using C:, as well as when using the USB drives. So this rules out any USB or cable problems.

    As you probably know, 'Copy' will transfer a file to a different part of the same drive. Using 'Move', will not transfer the file but only change the directory entry. It is this move action that is producing the greater number of instances of problem files. Most files will be moved (= directory entry change), but some will be a copy as these files still remain in the source folder as well as being in the destination folder - on the same drive!

    In the current tidying-up of files to different folders, I'm always doing it on the same drive. It's much faster, especially with large files. Later I use VV to make all drives identical and have no difficulties.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,848
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    I disliked TeraCopy when it first came out, and stuck with Robocopy, whose foibles I am familiar with (/XJ, anyone?!).

    Would it be worth trying Robocopy?
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've used Robocopy in Batch files which is ideal for repetitive copying. But I'm doing many 'one-off' copies.

    I've done a lot of internet searching and it appears that many experience CRC errors, whilst using damaged hard and optical drives. This suggests that Window's copy now does a CRC check. Also I can't find any information about turning on CRC checking.

    So I'll remove TeraCopy and revert to normal Windows 7 copy.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've been having this exact same problem with TeraCopy for the last several days. What has changed?

    - I believe I upgraded TeraCopy to the latest version 2.3, although I'm not sure the problem started immediately afterwards.
    - I uninstalled Avira Free Anti-virus and replaced it with Bitdefender Free Antivirus v.1.0.21.1099.
    - I installed PerfectDisk 13 Pro Defrag (Build 783), choosing the "Optiwrite" option on all disks except SSD's and USB's to make sure new files saved to disk were not fragmented.
    - I installed several other programs (including VirtualBox 4.3.14, which I had to downgrade to 4.3.12 r93733), none of which should affect disk reading and writing in any way.

    I've never had a single problem with TeraCopy ever since they fixed it to not constantly crash when copying a large number of files, and this is rather a dismaying development. I'll see if I can figure out what's causing it, and report back if I find anything.

    P-S

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    I wouldn't be so sure that Teracopy would be the culprit here. It's much more likely that the files have issues and Teracopy is just bringing them to light.

    When did you last run a chkdsk on your drive? Are you sure there is no file system corruption going on?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have 7 logical drives (not counting USB sticks), 1 of which is an SSD, and 2 of which are partitions on the same HDD. I am currently doing a major reorganization of my files, from all disks to all disks, and no matter which disk I'm copying from or to, a certain percentage of the files simply don't go through the "CRC verification" phase. They are marked as "File read", and when I click on "Verify" they are marked as having the same checksum. The only problem is that for some reason Teracopy is not checking certain files and therefore doesn't delete them after the move operation completes.

    This is in addition to a somewhat sporadic error that Teracopy cannot get permissions to move certain files or directories, and asks me if I want to copy them instead and try to delete them afterwards. When the copy is complete, it has no problem deleting the original files, although I haven't tested this with huge moves. I must admit that I'm moving tons of files and haven't ruled out "read only" folders, failing HDD controllers and file corruption; however, I have never had any problems of this type with Teracopy in the several years I've been using it, and believe it would be easier to possibly roll back, or to check into programs that may be interfering with disk access or permissions, such as the new antivirus and defrag programs.

    Just for info, I restored a new Windows 7 installation (made with partimage, and matching the original MD5) about a week ago, so my OS installation is pretty much as new as it can be.

    Edit 1: I've just run chkdsk on my 3 internal HDD's and 1 USB HDD without any resulting errors, and am currently copying 74 GB in 734 files from one of my 3 USB HDD's to another. I'll let you know if it copies okay, and if not how many files are left behind. I've also scheduled a scan of my Win 7 SSD at next boot, and will run a chkdsk on my 2 remaining external drives tomorrow.

    Edit 2: Teracopy reported 9 problem files, all of which subsequently verified against the CRC, and when I clicked "Move" again all but 2 files moved successfully. One of those files showed a status of "File read", and when I tried to move them again the status of both files changed to "Open Error: Access is denied". When I tried to navigate to their parent directory in Explorer, Explorer said that "Location is not available" with an error that "Access is denied".

    After I rebooted and a chkdsk was run on my Windows disk without results, I ran chkdsk on the 2 external HDDs that had produced the "problem files", both of which came up with no errors. However, when I tried to go to the directory that had denied me access before rebooting, the directory was no longer there.

    I have not checked any of my drives for bad sectors as this would require far more time. All my internal HDDs show a SMART status of excellent. Do you think it would be worth running a sector scan?
    Last edited by Payload-Specialist; 2014-07-26 at 18:19.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    I would definitely check for bad sectors.

    A few years ago I realized some of my files that were apparently ok, when read had some garbled text at the end. That disk eventually failed and I still have some enduring remnants of the corruption it caused, when I try to access some of those files. Of course, this doesn't mean the same is happening to you and the possibility of issues with TeraCopy exists (although it has always worked very well for me), but I think putting aside any possibility of disk errors is worth the effort.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I started this tread and what Payload-Specialist reports is all similar to my experiences. Although I was a new user of Teracopy and experiences the problems soon after I started to use it.

    I've removed Teracopy and no longer experience any problems.

    I'm also doing a similar re-organisation of many disks, with similar large sessions.

    After using the native W7 Pro 64bit copy/move, I'm comparing different drives with ViceVersa that provides full control of CRC checking and not found any errors.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, I believe the problem is solved. I simply rolled back to Teracopy 2.27, first uninstalling 2.3 with Revo Uninstaller and removing all related files and registry entries except for the "Options.ini" configuration file. There are no longer any problem files that nevertheless verify against the CRC checksum. Teracopy still occasionally leaves empty directories after a move operation, but that has been the case for me for years now.

    Of course, this doesn't mean that Teracopy itself is flawed. It could be a problem with interaction with other programs, or even with the operating system (I'm using Win7 64-bit) as suggested by the following comments at http://blog.codesector.com/2013/12/0...3-50-discount/ :

    "Teracopy version 2.3 is temperamental (hangs) with Windows 7 64-bit, but works well with Windows XP. I have reverted to version 2.2.7 on Windows 7 64-bit."

    "my free version is stuck on bad files, will the pro version skip them?"

    "Hi folks, I've a lot of problems with TeraCopy 2.3x Pro on Win7 x64
    - there are no context menu entries installed (copy/move using TeraCopy).
    - Buttons in option menue are always disabled even with admin permissions.
    - Checkbox "use TeraCopy as win default" has no effect

    So I will use V 2.27 which works fine."

    CHANGELOG
    -----------

    Version 2.3

    Minor bugfixes and UI improvements.

    Version 2.3 beta 2

    Added: Support for Total Commander 8.01 x64.
    Added: Auto-splitting files on FAT32 filesystems.
    Added: Additional check for trimming file, useful on D-Link NAS devices.
    Added: 'Confirm drag and drop' option.
    Fixed: Removing files from filelist when not enough disk space.
    Fixed: Skip button now works on error files.
    Changed: Flashing window instead of tray notification.

    Version 2.3 beta

    Added: Moving files within the same drive without launching TeraCopy.exe.
    Added: '/Report' command line key.
    Fixed: Problem copying some locked files.
    ________________________

    Landyman, would you be willing to try installing Teracopy 2.27, available at http://www.downloadcrew.com/article/12972-teracopy ? The program is definitely worth it, is quite fast, and has aided me immensely in avoiding corruption during file transfers across disks. If rolling back fixes your problem as well, we can decide that it's probably a conflict between one of the recent changes and the operating system (especially since you're also on Windows 7 64-bit).

    In any case, we'll have something to tell the developers.

    Take care,
    P-S
    Last edited by Payload-Specialist; 2014-07-29 at 10:47.

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,353
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,162 Times in 1,069 Posts
    Glad you sorted it and thanks for posting what worked for you.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,131
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 247 Times in 240 Posts
    So simple, I would have mentioned that I've only "progressed" to version 2.27 had I known. So many upgrades these days are not related to core component improvement that I steer clear if the sailing is smooth.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Landyman View Post
    it appears that many experience CRC errors, whilst using damaged hard and optical drives. This suggests that Window's copy now does a CRC check. Also I can't find any information about turning on CRC checking.
    Actually, I think this CRC error only pops up when there is a bad sector on the media being copied to. I'm almost positive that Windows does absolutely no error checking on completed copies. I originally installed Teracopy because normal copying under Windows was corrupting my files across drives. I'm almost positive I was running Windows 7 at the time.

    Quote Originally Posted by F.U.N. downtown View Post
    So simple, I would have mentioned that I've only "progressed" to version 2.27 had I known. So many upgrades these days are not related to core component improvement that I steer clear if the sailing is smooth.
    That's a very good point. However, when I roll back my computer or re-install Windows from scratch, I make it a habit to download and install the latest versions of my drivers and software. Of course, that also means that I occasionally run into problems like this one. :/
    Last edited by Payload-Specialist; 2014-07-29 at 11:09.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •