Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: System 32

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry System 32

    (Recent post system 32 dll error)
    Recently my daughter was out on facebook, when she returned to windows she brought back a virus that delete random system32 and windows system files. Windows Defender did not catch the virus. I had to get a system recovery disc from gateway because the virus corrupted the recovery backup as well. Needless to say I am still waiting on the disc from gateway and having to use a friends computer. This virus is very nasty so please cya and watch out.

    Screwed, Blued and Tattooebear221

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,377
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Sorry for your problem. Good reason to create regular backup images.

    Do you know what the virus is?

    Joe

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    338
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts

  5. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
    Does your the computer have files that you need to save such as email or photographs? depending on how badly the file system is corrupted, you may be able to recover them using a Linux Live DVD.

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Sadly Windows Defender does very poorly in tests against other AV software.
    Joe

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,602
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    If you can boot up into Safe Mode you may be able to run MSRT by going Start (depending upon the OS which could be Win 8.1 if you are using Defender) type mrt.exe - press enter and run a full scan.

    Or as you have access to another computer, create a Kaspersky Recue Disk to boot up with and run that - the scans can take a while to complete.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-07-15 at 18:52.

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    361
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    better reason to stay off facebook

    their fine print warns about things they do that facilitate such problems being done to you



    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Sorry for your problem. Good reason to create regular backup images.

    Do you know what the virus is?

    Joe

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    JoeP517

    [QUOTE=JoeP517;959367]Sorry for your problem. Good reason to create regular backup images.

    Do you know what the virus is?



    Backed up with nero can't get it back. Go figure

  10. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nero Backup really sucks

  11. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the info. Will try it.

  12. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mrt.exe command does not work, invalid command but thanks anyhow. Gateway sent me the recovery discs. When I finally get rid of this damn virus I will make the rescue disc. Hopefully I won't need it.

    Thank you
    bear221

  13. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This got through Norton Pro. This virus sucks rocks.

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have hard-headed smartass children that make it their mission to do the opposite of what they are told even with the site not allowed thru Family Safety. Any thoughts on this would be gladly use to stop the smartasses.

    Thanks

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,602
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 230 Times in 225 Posts
    As you have Norton then you will also have the option to run NPE, but using it this way from within the program, I think it only runs in Rootkit mode which is quite aggressive and could take out other programs, but as it got past it in the first place, it could be debatable whether it would find the infection or be able to do anything with it.

    I have NPE as a separate .exe in my Downloads folder so I can opt for the Standard scan.

    If you have the option for Safe Mode with Command Prompt or can access the cmd prompt from Safe Mode, you can also run mrt.exe from there.

    For example, type mrt.exe /F:Y to run a full scan and automatically clean the infected files.

    To exit from Safe Mode with Command Prompt, shutdown and restart - enter shutdown /r

    The Kaspersky Rescue Disk after scanning C: could initiate a chkdsk /f to repair any damaged/corrupt files, but a recent scan with it on mine took ~9hrs for it to get through my C: in Win 7 - but it did the job although it wasn't to disinfect - but which may negate the need for you to factory reset your computer with the OEM disks.

    As for the kids - tell them if they screw it again by going to sites they shouldn't then you won't get it fixed and they'll be without a computer - or chop their hands off
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-07-26 at 08:49.

  16. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bear221 View Post
    Have hard-headed smartass children that make it their mission to do the opposite of what they are told even with the site not allowed thru Family Safety. Any thoughts on this would be gladly use to stop the smartasses.

    Thanks
    It depends on your starting point. Do your children have their own computers?, or do they have accounts on the family computer. In any case, you should have the password for the administrator's account, and your children should have user accounts.

    Then when they want to install something, they will have to call you, and you will be able to review what they are installing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •