Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts

    How to get SP2 and IE 9 for a 32-bit Vista HP

    My friend set his Dell Inspiron Vista HP 32-bit desktop last week to factory default using Vista’s built in Factory Restore system because the computer wouldn’t boot into Windows after a thunderstorm/lightning timeframe the computer shut itself down. After the reinstall he installed SP2. Then he was getting notices to update to IE9 – he has IE7 but couldn’t update to IE9.

    This morning I checked the computer and here is what I found out
    In Windows Updates history, there are 2 SP2 updates each being reported as Cancelled. However the System page does report he has SP2.
    --- So now I’m wondering whether or not it’s a good idea to uninstall both SP2’s recorded in Windows Updates history and then install SP2 properly
    --- If so, how do I uninstall the cancelled SP2’s and where do I find the official Microsoft SP2 to install for him?Then there’s IE9. The reason he couldn’t install IE9 is because it’s the 64-bit but he has 32-bit. How do I find IE9 32-bit version?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    2,723
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 336 Times in 304 Posts
    The best place to check is View installed updates from Programs and Features, rather than Windows Update History: View Installed Updates In Vista

    (The canceled entries in history could be because it was already installed. There may not be any need to uninstall or reinstall SP2.)

    Download Windows Vista Service Pack 2 32-bit

    Download Internet Explorer 9 for Windows Vista 32-bit


    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2014-07-17 at 22:44.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2014-07-24)

  5. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Thanks Bruce. I'll put your recommendations to good use

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Cumberland WV
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Install Firefox instead of IE on 32bit Vista.

    Redid a computer for my friend and had same problem. After beating my head on the keyboard. ( must have jogged my brain) I just installed Firefox and set it to default.It works. Plus I think Firefox is a lot better and faster. I put the service packs in it. But still wouldn't work.





    Quote Originally Posted by cmptrgy View Post
    My friend set his Dell Inspiron Vista HP 32-bit desktop last week to factory default using Vista’s built in Factory Restore system because the computer wouldn’t boot into Windows after a thunderstorm/lightning timeframe the computer shut itself down. After the reinstall he installed SP2. Then he was getting notices to update to IE9 – he has IE7 but couldn’t update to IE9.

    This morning I checked the computer and here is what I found out
    In Windows Updates history, there are 2 SP2 updates each being reported as Cancelled. However the System page does report he has SP2.
    --- So now I’m wondering whether or not it’s a good idea to uninstall both SP2’s recorded in Windows Updates history and then install SP2 properly
    --- If so, how do I uninstall the cancelled SP2’s and where do I find the official Microsoft SP2 to install for him?Then there’s IE9. The reason he couldn’t install IE9 is because it’s the 64-bit but he has 32-bit. How do I find IE9 32-bit version?

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    391
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
    Update: Using those links provided by Bruce worked out fine
    --- My friends computer has been and still runs like new as it should be

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •