Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 11.x 64 bit and single initial web page

    Hi

    I have Windows 8.1 Update 64 bit.

    I've noticed that Internet Explorer 11.x 64 bit (Modern UI) is always open with the tabs opened in the previous session. How should I do to make sure that, when this app is opened, it is opened with the single initial web page that I would like?

    Thanks

    Bye

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Are you closing IE when you are done? http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../how-close-app

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Change "Start with tabs from last session" to "Start with home page" at Internet Options, General, Startup (from Desktop IE, Tools or Control Panel) and set a home page above.

    Bruce

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Change "Start with tabs from last session" to "Start with home page" at Internet Options, General, Startup (from Desktop IE, Tools or Control Panel) and set a home page above.

    Bruce
    I checked and it seems that everything is correct but the problem remains.

    So, how do I set the home page in the IE 11.x app (Modern UI) so that even if I close (by clicking the X on the new title bar of the app) or if I restart the computer, the IE tabs, opened in the previous session, will no more be displayed?

    Thanks

    Bye
    Last edited by balubeto; 2014-07-19 at 14:02.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by balubeto View Post
    I checked and it seems that everything is correct but the problem remains.
    Perhaps, as Jerry hinted, you need to close IE completely?:

    To completely stop all processes associated with an app, drag the app to the bottom of the screen, and hold it there until the app flips over.

    (from Jerry's link above)

    Bruce

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    If Bruce's suggestion doesn't work, verify that you don't have multiple Home Pages defined in Internet Options > General.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If I make this procedure:

    1) I open the IE app (Modern UI) and I open some web page.

    2) From this app, I open IE (desktop) via its Wrench menu.

    3) I close properly the IE app (Modern UI).

    4) I reopen this app and I find all my opened tabs instead of the main page that I have set.

    Instead, if I make this procedure:

    1) I open the IE app (Modern UI) and I open some web page.

    2) From this app, I open IE (desktop) via its Wrench menu.

    3) I close properly the IE app (Modern UI) and IE (desktop).

    4) I reopen IE app (Modern UI) and only the home page is displayed, as it would be correct.

    Now, because the first procedure does not work, as it would have been reasonable to expect? There is a solution to this?

    Thanks

    Bye

  8. #8
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by balubeto View Post
    2) From this app, I open IE (desktop) via its Wrench menu.

    2) From this app, I open IE (desktop) via its Wrench menu.
    I'm not quite following the reasoning for opening the desktop IE when you have the Modern UI IE App open already.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbearren View Post
    I'm not quite following the reasoning for opening the desktop IE when you have the Modern UI IE App open already.
    Exactly. Pick one browser and stick with it.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •