Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    F/U to Clint's SpyHunter Suggestion

    I run W7 SP1 Home Premium on a desktop; and run MSSE and M_Bytes Pro (paid version) in real-time.

    I went to the BleepingComputer page suggested by Clint in his Spyhunter response.

    My question is: should I also run M_Bytes Anti-Exploit to what I run as per the above?

    Also, are there any other free programs listed on the 4 pages at Bleeping that sre also worth running alongside MSSE and M_Bytes Pro?

    Thank you for any help/suggestions,
    Dick

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    YMMV, but I run MB Anti-Exploit along with MB Pro and Windows Defender on my Win 8.1 Update 1 computer.
    I also run Windows Defender Offline once a month. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2014-07-25)

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    RG:
    Do you run the free version or the paid-for version?
    In either case, do you know if the free version provides "shields" for all the browsers and apps listed?
    I read some stuff on M_Bytes Forum, but didn't find an answer to my question.

    If the free version does provide all the shields, what's the advantage of buying the premium version?

    Dick

  5. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    MSE and MBAM work well together, even with both of them active in the background.
    There are also some others that are very useful to have around as "spot checkers" as part of a toolkit.
    This one I've been impressed with and have had some use for...on several occasions.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    Dick-Y (2014-07-25)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Dick,

    I'm running the Paid version (advantage is running in active mode vs on demand) so I actually have two ACTIVE scanners running. Many say this is not a good idea because of interference between the programs but I've been doing it on 4 different machines w/o a problem for quit a while now. HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2014-07-25 at 10:12.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Did you see this: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...-4-Good-or-bad ?

    Is it the same app?
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  9. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    That thread is what my f/u question to Clint was about.
    M_Bytes' MBAE is not the same as SpyHunter.
    Dick

  10. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Just a f/u to my initial question about MBAE. First, I found that EMET 4.1 didn't like it, and prevented the MBAE service from running.

    Because I wanted to test MBAE, I uninstalled EMET.

    With MBAE I then found that my Excel 2007 workbooks wouldn't work. I would get the message: "There was a problem sending the command to the program."

    At that point I decided to uninstall MBAE (the paid version), and go back to using EMET.

    FYI,
    Dick

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger 1PW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 46 Times in 28 Posts
    Hello Dick-Y:

    This is only regarding your issue with Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit (MBAE).

    Especially since you have the paid version, you would do well to open your own topic in the Anti-Exploit Product Support sub-forum.

    You would likely be helped by pbust (Pedro Bustamante), the developer of MBAE.

    It's most unfortunate that you've paid for such an outstanding prevention tool and you're not using it.

    HTH
    Last edited by 1PW; 2014-07-27 at 02:30.

  12. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for the suggestion. My spreadsheets are too important for me because they drive what I do with my investments in the stock market. I need Excel to work for me far more than I need MBAE to work. So, I don't want to spend time with the vendor debugging problems with their software. I do thank you, though, for your suggestion. Perhaps someone here who uses MBAE (paid) and Excel 2007 can tell me/us how they accomplished that.
    Dick

    PS,
    I found these problems in my 1st few days of using MBAE, so I will apply for a refund based on their 30-day trial period offer.

  13. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi this is pbust from Malwarebytes. 1PW pointed me to this thread.

    Dick-Y, sorry you are having these problems. We used to have this bug with MBAE long time ago but has since been corrected. Can you please tell me which version of MBAE you are using? Also if you'd like me to help out with this issue can please zip and send me the contents of your MBAE logs directory, which can be found at:
    Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit
    Vista and above: C:\ProgramData\Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

    While we analyze your issue and fix it, you can go to the Shields tab, select Excel and hit the Deactivate button so that it doesn't interfere with your Excel spreadsheets.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to pbust For This Useful Post:

    satrow (2014-07-27)

  15. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    pedro:
    Thank you for your kind offer. I have already used Revo to uninstall MBAE.
    However, I will reinstall it, apply the shield for Excel, generate the logs, and then deactivate the shield for Excel.

    I was using the latest version, having just downloaded it last weekend.

    One question first, though:
    Do you want me to leave EMET running, because in my experience with EMET and MBAE is that EMET prevents the MBAE service from running?

    THanks for offering to help.

    Dick

  16. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes please uninstall EMET completely when introducing MBAE again.

    Then if everything works OK we can re-introduce EMET. Although depending on your OS and config you might have to make some configurations in EMET to make it work alongside MBAE.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •